User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-06-2013, 10:49 AM   #1
k12lts OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 326
Oil pan gasket

I pulled the oil pan an a recently acquired 81 R100 to check out the inside of the engine. I'm ready to reassemble and the manuals (Clymer and Haynes) say to use sealant on the gasket but the original gasket came off dry.

Also, the prior owner replaced the push tube seals and the ones on the right side sealed fine but the left side both leak pretty bad. I can tell the seals look newer, can they be tapped in to be tightened up or do I need to pull that side an replace them?

What do the experts say??
1981 BMW R100RS
2006 KLR 650
k12lts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:10 AM   #2
Mark Manley
On my way

Oddometer: 598
I replaced the sump on several bikes with no sealant on the gasket and they have never leaked a drop, but I am not sure that I am an expert.

"You've got to think for yourselves! You're all individuals!"-Brian of Nazareth

Mark Manley screwed with this post 01-06-2013 at 11:11 AM Reason: more info
Mark Manley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:23 AM   #3
kwb210
who just arrived?

Oddometer: 80
Install it dry

I rub a bit of oil on both sides just prior to installing the gasket, mine have never leaked (knock on wood). Good call on pulling the pan to inspect the inside. On bikes that have low miles or have sat around along time there is usually a film of old oil that is best not circulated into the engine. Total cost about $7 - $9 dollars for piece of mind. ANd don't over tighten those little bolts either, does not take much to hold the pan on, you don't want to risk stripping a thread. Good luck!
Kurt
kwb210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:58 AM   #4
k12lts OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 326
Thanks for the tips, dry was my first thought too.