ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 06:25 PM   #1
sstewart OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
sstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Boaz,Alabama
Oddometer: 1,056
Thermostat switch

Has anyone changed the switch for the new one offered by KTMtwins? It allows the fans to come in at a lower temp. Is this a good or bad idea?
sstewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 07:53 PM   #2
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,885
If you don't change the engine's thermostat, it won't change how the bike runs. You'll be cooling down the radiator more, you may see fewer bars on the instruments and you may not get a run-away cooling problem where you see all the bars.

Did you change out the stock plastic radiator protector for the screen type? Stock one restricts air flow at slow speeds (about 25 and below).
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:59 PM   #3
nomad guy
A legal alien
 
nomad guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Stranded in Berkeley, CA
Oddometer: 813
i changed to a lower temp fan switch. it makes a very nice difference.
the bike rarely goes above 5 bars where it use to go 6 and above.
most of the time it is on 4. i can compare to my riding buddy whom ride an identical bike and always runs hotter.
i bought it you e.bay.
__________________
Cheers
Guy

04 KTM ADV 950S GO!!!!!
09 KTM 690 ENDURO R
nomad guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:21 AM   #4
Waterbaby
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Buckinghamshire
Oddometer: 102
I was thinking is there anyway I could get a twin fan set up for the fans to come on at different times, say the left side at 4/5 bars and the right side if it goes any hotter, as it only gets very hot when I’m stuck or working hard off road.
Waterbaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:56 AM   #5
cagiva549
whats a cagiva
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Cypress Tx
Oddometer: 2,454
If I were going to add or change something I would add a switch to overide the auto switch and turn the fan on manuel but since my 950 hasent been over 5 bars in the last couple years I dont plan on any mods . A good clean properly working cooling system does just fine . SEYA
__________________
David H
00 Cagiva GC
04 9 fiddy
05 ST3 duck
07 KTM 450 EXC
86 Goldwing my geezer ride
cagiva549 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:47 AM   #6
sstewart OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
sstewart's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Boaz,Alabama
Oddometer: 1,056
Switch

I have changed the radiator guard along with every other piece on the bike. I'm not having issues, just wondered if it would be better to change.
sstewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 07:53 PM   #7
Brown Dog
North Georgia Dual Sportr
 
Brown Dog's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Calhoun, GA. USA
Oddometer: 1,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomad guy
i changed to a lower temp fan switch. it makes a very nice difference.
the bike rarely goes above 5 bars where it use to go 6 and above.
most of the time it is on 4 ...
i bought it you e.bay.
Ditto for me too = 4 bars most of the time with my ebay switch.
The Ebay switch turns the Fan on 39 degrees sooner than the stocker.
I Wired my fan positive wire strait to the battery so it can keep running with the switch off if/when needed.
The radiator gets hotter after you stop & air is not cooling it down.
It's not required but I like it.
My buddies says it's like a Buell now
As mentioned, the bike runs the same but stays much cooler off-road or in traffic.
I did this mod to my 690 & 950
Brown Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:34 PM   #8
fast4d
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 2,241
Stock thermoswitch don't come on until over 200F? So yes it'll help some
__________________
Alan
2011 KTM RC8R
2012 BMW S1000RR
2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100
2013 KTM SMT 990
fast4d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:38 PM   #9
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by fast4d View Post
Stock thermoswitch don't come on until over 200F? So yes it'll help some
stocker = ~220F ON and ~200F OFF
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 10:31 PM   #10
Rideimal
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Surrounded by Texas
Oddometer: 82
if you are riding a 990 then you can use TuneECU to tell the ECU when to kick on the fan (or so they claim - I haven't tried it).
Rideimal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 11:15 PM   #11
HWSNBN
Banned
 
HWSNBN's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Playing a d00d, disguised as another d00d
Oddometer: 2,895
I had posted some crossover pn#s here long ago. I recall that a mid 90's Geo Metro uses the same switch at the lower temps. Might be wrong, can't remember. Theres a cheap readily available one sitting on the shelf at your local NAPA, find it yourself.
HWSNBN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 11:18 PM   #12
nomad guy
A legal alien
 
nomad guy's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Stranded in Berkeley, CA
Oddometer: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rideimal View Post
if you are riding a 990 then you can use TuneECU to tell the ECU when to kick on the fan (or so they claim - I haven't tried it).
that is an interesting claim as the ecu is not part of the fan circuit,at list not according to the wiring diagram that i have. the thermoswitch is the ground switch for the circuit. its a "dumb" on/off switch.
__________________
Cheers
Guy

04 KTM ADV 950S GO!!!!!
09 KTM 690 ENDURO R
nomad guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 07:19 PM   #13
Swatch
Adventurer
 
Swatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Chambly, Quebec
Oddometer: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by HWSNBN View Post
I had posted some crossover pn#s here long ago. I recall that a mid 90's Geo Metro uses the same switch at the lower temps. Might be wrong, can't remember. Theres a cheap readily available one sitting on the shelf at your local NAPA, find it yourself.

Can someone confirm that info ?

I need to replace my thermo-switch this week, and if the autoparts store have something cheaper...
__________________
Simon
2004 KTM 950 Adventure - black
Swatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 07:23 PM   #14
Tobes2102
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Knoxvegas
Oddometer: 91
I put one from ktm twins on my 990 and it worked well. Fan comes on earlier, seems to do the trick.
Tobes2102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 07:34 PM   #15
Swatch
Adventurer
 
Swatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Chambly, Quebec
Oddometer: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobes2102 View Post
I put one from ktm twins on my 990 and it worked well. Fan comes on earlier, seems to do the trick.
Yes, I know, but I need it faster than what it take from KTMtwins...

And the one I replace is from KTM twins, just stop working this morning.
__________________
Simon
2004 KTM 950 Adventure - black
Swatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014