ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 11:05 PM   #1
JWL OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Oddometer: 16
Question Computer , is there better way to trick

At the 40,000 km service on my 2005 1200gs the Dealer did some computer updates that appear to have added fuel shut off on overrun .
( update is K25 )
This causes the bike to stumble on return to throttle and lean( noisy ) fire on shifting back gears .
After the Dealer and BM Australia would do nothing I started fiddling with the throttle stop screws ( BBS ) and found that if I increased the idle speed with the LH BBS after I started the bike it would run fine again .
Theory is that the computer does not sense a fully closed throttle and does not shut the fuel off in overrun situation .
Problem is , have to re-do on every start and idle is bit high and iratic .

Any suggestions appreciated , thinking of selling as riding is now annoying .

John .
JWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 04:58 AM   #2
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,650
There is no BBS on an R1200. I suspect you messed with the screw that adjusts the butterfly stops, and almost never need, or should be, adjusted.

At any rate, first make sure you have the required 1mm slack in the cables at the throttle bodies.

Fallow these instructions: http://www.jimvonbaden.com/R1200_TB_Sync.html

Also make sure your throttle cable at the grip has slack.

Do you have stock exhaust?

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 05:30 PM   #3
JWL OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Oddometer: 16
Thanks Jim ,
Have has staintune from 20,000 km , have thought about trying the more restricted stock pipe , but all was fine until last service . ( will try )

Cables etc adjusted , your corect , adjusted butterfly stop screw .

Moving the thottle sensor position after starting the bike also fixes but also has some idle speed issues .

regards
John
JWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 06:01 PM   #4
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWL View Post
Thanks Jim ,
Have has staintune from 20,000 km , have thought about trying the more restricted stock pipe , but all was fine until last service . ( will try )

Cables etc adjusted , your corect , adjusted butterfly stop screw .

Moving the thottle sensor position after starting the bike also fixes but also has some idle speed issues .

regards
John
John,

If your idle speed is increased, providing you have slack at the throttle bodies and the twist grip, it is likely that it can be fixed by disconnecting the battery cable for 10 seconds, then putting it back on. After that you turn the key to on, let the self checks complete, and twist the grip full throttle and back twice. This helps to reset the TPS so the idle will be correct.

Also, you can do a stepper motor calibration by using a GS911. This should smooth out the idle. Then do another throttle body sync.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014