ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2013, 10:18 PM   #1
LC4nicator OP
Certified Wino
 
LC4nicator's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Oddometer: 466
Using an in-car GPS on a bike???

I currently use a Navman 4.3" GPS in the 4WD
I don't have one on the bike however and the usual bike related GPS's around are pretty small.
Now my eyesight is not too good at the best of times so the bike gps is not really an option.
Just wondering whether anyone has used / fitted an in car GPS into a weatherproof box for ride duties.
Something like this for instance:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/RAM-ATV-UTV-...item53eb977359
There's a fair bit of space behind the fairing on my 640ADV and this would be a good spot.
__________________
Conman62 in the "other world"......dirtbikeworld.net
The beatings will continue untill morale improves!
2006 KTM 525 EXC
LC4nicator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:45 PM   #2
Multiplicity
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Oddometer: 172
I've ran my Garmin 2610 on both my RT and GSA
Multiplicity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:52 PM   #3
wi11iamson
Gnarly Adventurer
 
wi11iamson's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Oddometer: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by LC4nicator View Post
I currently use a Navman 4.3" GPS in the 4WD ....... wondering whether anyone has used / fitted an in car GPS into a weatherproof box for ride duties.
This has worked okay for me for three years or so. A couple of times, in really heavy rain, I've put the Navman in the tank bag.
__________________
Cheers, Wi11iamson (AKA Michael)

Motorcycling - the best time I've had with my clothes on.
wi11iamson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:59 PM   #4
OzJuJu
Team Barracuda
 
OzJuJu's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: SA, land of chocolate
Oddometer: 761
You already know every trail in the Adelaide Hills and Fleurieu so why would you need a GPS??
__________________
XT660Z '11
TTR250 Open Enduro '98
OzJuJu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:16 PM   #5
B1
Carbon-based bipedal
 
B1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Arse-trailer
Oddometer: 3,117
been using a garmin nuvi 1450t then a 1490t for the past few years with no issues and just ran the free shonky maps for offroad till i get a copy of the garmin topo maps. that aquabox looks good, but to date i've just used a clear plastic bag and rubber bands when it gets dusty or wet.

bright five inch screen is great for not needing glasses to read, and navigating on the run.
__________________
Sure we trials riders have smaller knobs but we know how to use them - get into trials here
B1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:17 PM   #6
Aussie Trev
aka DRTrev
 
Aussie Trev's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Gawler, South Australia
Oddometer: 5,311
Why would a sweep need a GPS? Having trouble keeping up now you've gone Adv?
__________________
2011 Triumph Tiger 800XC
1982 PE175Z
Full member......Quorn Schnitzel Club

"Just having a crack"
Aussie Trev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:30 PM   #7
LC4nicator OP
Certified Wino
 
LC4nicator's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Oddometer: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzJuJu View Post
You already know every trail in the Adelaide Hills and Fleurieu so why would you need a GPS??
HaHaHa....plenty more to discover Craig.
How' you healing up anyway mate?
__________________
Conman62 in the "other world"......dirtbikeworld.net
The beatings will continue untill morale improves!
2006 KTM 525 EXC
LC4nicator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:35 PM   #8
LC4nicator OP
Certified Wino
 
LC4nicator's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Oddometer: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTrev View Post
Why would a sweep need a GPS? Having trouble keeping up now you've gone Adv?
Hahaha.....that's what I like about you Trev......it's those little truisms you seem to pluck out of thin air when others have missed 'em

Come to think of it.....gettin' lost is an adventure isn't it?
__________________
Conman62 in the "other world"......dirtbikeworld.net
The beatings will continue untill morale improves!
2006 KTM 525 EXC
LC4nicator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:42 PM   #9
Aussie Trev
aka DRTrev
 
Aussie Trev's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Gawler, South Australia
Oddometer: 5,311
I understand where you're coming from Con. Have a look at those Garmin Montana GPS units. Very good and well worth the money.

I also had some prescription sunglasses made ip with a small reading pane at the bottom. Makes the Zumo look like a tv screen!

How does your car GPS handle out of the way tracks?
__________________
2011 Triumph Tiger 800XC
1982 PE175Z
Full member......Quorn Schnitzel Club

"Just having a crack"
Aussie Trev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 11:52 PM   #10
masterbrewer
TDMster
 
masterbrewer's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Oddometer: 2,527

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRTrev View Post
Why would a sweep need a GPS? Having trouble keeping up now you've gone Adv?
He only has trouble with his short cuts, according to No Gasman


masterbrewer screwed with this post 01-13-2013 at 12:01 AM
masterbrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:01 AM   #11
Ockrocket
Beastly Adventurer
 
Ockrocket's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Windsor NSW [near enough]
Oddometer: 1,103
I'm using a Garmin Nuvi in an Aldi waterproof case on my KLE, prior to that I had a TomTom then my Garmin in an Aquabox on my Wee-Strom.

Both work well, the Aquabox has built up a layer of dust between the two rubber screens that makes it harder to see through now, the Aldi one is a single plastic screen and is not lockable- whereas the Aquabox can be locked.

I'm currently using an Aldi GoCruise GPS on the Wee, it does ok for following a route but I can't read any of the text on the screen without my glasses on.
The GoCruise does take lots of dirt back roads if you program it for the shortest route and avoid freeways/motorways.

I just did two weeks down to Victoria and back and it took me on some seriously rough back roads.

I'm chasing a second power lead/mount so I can swap it over to the KLE as well.
__________________
Windsor [near enough] NSW

"All roads lead to now."

I love snatching kisses..... and vice versa.
Ockrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:14 AM   #12
boy60
Studly Adventurer
 
boy60's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Wandoan, Queensland Australia
Oddometer: 698
I used a navman n90 it lasted one ride then gave up the ghost
boy60 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:29 AM   #13
farqhuar
Lone Wolf
 
farqhuar's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Melbun, Oztralia
Oddometer: 1,036
I'm on my 2nd Nuvi, mounted in a ram mount cradle. Used a 3.5" 310 for 5 years before upgrading to a 5" 1450, and I strongly recommend them as a value for money option

The 310 took me around China/Russia/kazakhstan etc. just using the base World Map. In Sweden a friend got me a free copy of the euro map which was much more accurate. Locally, I use shonky maps in conjunction withe standard garmin aussie maps.

As far as waterproofing goes I just leave it out in the open and either take it off, or put it in a ziplock bag, when it starts raining. A couple of times it got soaked through but continued to work fine - only problem was dark patches on the screen biut they disapppeared after a couple of days.

Oh, and yes, I also use it in the car..
__________________
Garry from Oz - Burgman Adventurer.
farqhuar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:38 AM   #14
LC4nicator OP
Certified Wino
 
LC4nicator's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Oddometer: 466
I have the Navman MY80T.....4.7" screen actually
Haven't really had a chance to test it out in the scrub yet as we only jumped onto the GPS bandwagon about 6 months ago.
When I'm heading south, you can't really get into too much trouble, direction wise.
It's when I take a future trip northwards, where I don't know my way around, where it will come in handy.
I figure I'll input a destination and let the unit tell me which way to go, on the fly, rather than stopping to view a map.

There is a HEMA 4WD Tracks download I can get for $39 so this may be a logical 2nd step......anyone done this?

I've had a look at the montana and other similar units but they're all so pricey and really can't see the value at this point.
Some of these units are up around the $650 / $700 mark.....I think I'll wait till I plan a circumnavigation of the globe or something!

For the time being though, I figure concentrating on some form of mounting system and weather/dust protection as it seems others have gone the same way as to what I am thinking.

Now if I can think of some inexpensive way of wirelessly connecting the unit to an earpiece in my helmet.................
__________________
Conman62 in the "other world"......dirtbikeworld.net
The beatings will continue untill morale improves!
2006 KTM 525 EXC
LC4nicator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:41 AM   #15
LC4nicator OP
Certified Wino
 
LC4nicator's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Oddometer: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by boy60 View Post
I used a navman n90 it lasted one ride then gave up the ghost
Vibration?....Water?....Dust?......

I figure a sealed case with foam lining would prevent damage here....that's my plan anyway.
Cheers
__________________
Conman62 in the "other world"......dirtbikeworld.net
The beatings will continue untill morale improves!
2006 KTM 525 EXC
LC4nicator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014