ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2013, 03:59 PM   #16
JR356
Beastly Adventurer
 
JR356's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: Way out West
Oddometer: 3,514
From the website:

"What are the PC requirements?
The minimum PC requirements are a Desktop or Laptop with WinXP Service Pack 2, 32 bit version (64 bit version supported as of Beta 903.6), 512MB RAM, 50MB open harddrive space and of course an open USB port. If you're running Windows Vista, 32 bit version (64 bit version supported as of Beta 903.6), a minimum of 1024MB RAM and 50MB of open harddrive space is required."

Website does not comment on Windows 7,8

My experience is on XP and Vsta.

Have it loaded on a newer 7 laptop and can open it to the different pages,but have not yet tried it connected to bike,if I get a chance,will report on results soon.

Just get a cheap XP or Vista laptop

JR356
JR356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 03:59 PM   #17
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by VEGASGSA View Post
Dumb question..but trying to get my 911 on line...

I'm all MAC here..so need to pick something up to run this on..

In looking at there site..Do I need something running XP or Vista?? Or does it run on 7..8?

I was kinda thinking of picking up a Surface..having a lightweight 'pooter to take with..etc..

Then too..is a surface a pile? ?? Should I just grab a refurb Acer with XP on it....??

Thanks in advance...
I can't help with the Mac specific stuff, but it will run any windows from XP to 8.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:24 PM   #18
200GRLSWC
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 104
I'm an all Mac household, as well, but I have VMWare Fusion and Windows XP loaded on my MacBookPro as an alternative setup (actually, now several series of MacBookPros).

GS911 runs in the XP environment fine on the MacBookPro. Same with the BMW RepRom, by the way. Same with my Scala Cardo headset software, also by the way. :-)

If you're a long-term GS owner and do your own wrenching it's hard to see how one would do without a GS911. I love mine.

Now if only I could get a good throttle body balancing set up, without having to have several tens of feet of rubber hose hanging in my garage. (And, no, I'm not going the TwinMax route again.)
200GRLSWC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:09 PM   #19
VEGASGSA
Need more Summer
 
VEGASGSA's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The Northwet..
Oddometer: 6,861
Perfect..thanks guys..When I looked at 911's site..it kinda read like it wanted an older version of Windows..

My MAC is a Desktop..so..not so easy to bring with..

And it won't work on thewifes iPad..and she won't let me have her Mac Pro...

So..if I need to get something anyway..I was thinking about using a Surface..

Beers and Bacon all around..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
You are not half as ugly as I thought you would be!
VEGASGSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:57 PM   #20
trc.rhubarb
Beastly Adventurer
 
trc.rhubarb's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Concord, CA
Oddometer: 1,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by VEGASGSA View Post
Perfect..thanks guys..When I looked at 911's site..it kinda read like it wanted an older version of Windows..

My MAC is a Desktop..so..not so easy to bring with..

And it won't work on thewifes iPad..and she won't let me have her Mac Pro...

So..if I need to get something anyway..I was thinking about using a Surface..

Beers and Bacon all around..
Surface Pro - RT isn't windows 8 like the full version is.
__________________
2007 BMW GS Adventure / 2000 Ducati 900ss / 2010 Harley Ultra Limited / 1975 BMW R90/6 / 2006 DRZ400S
Follow me here
trc.rhubarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:31 PM   #21
VEGASGSA
Need more Summer
 
VEGASGSA's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The Northwet..
Oddometer: 6,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by trc.rhubarb View Post
Surface Pro - RT isn't windows 8 like the full version is.
I wondered about that...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
You are not half as ugly as I thought you would be!
VEGASGSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 07:25 PM   #22
roger 04 rt
Beastly Adventurer
 
roger 04 rt's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Oddometer: 2,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by trc.rhubarb View Post
Surface Pro - RT isn't windows 8 like the full version is.
+1, I had a surface rt. It won't work.

You could consider a samsung galaxy android phone. I have used one and it does most things, including logging to file.
roger 04 rt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 07:31 PM   #23
VEGASGSA
Need more Summer
 
VEGASGSA's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The Northwet..
Oddometer: 6,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by roger 04 rt View Post
+1, I had a surface rt. It won't work.

You could consider a samsung galaxy android phone. I have used one and it does most things, including logging to file.
Hmmm..I tried my LG it won't log on to download...I'll prolly just grab a refurbished XP lap top.....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
You are not half as ugly as I thought you would be!
VEGASGSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:54 PM   #24
def
Ginger th wonder dog
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 9,227
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200GRLSWC View Post
I'm an all Mac household, as well, but I have VMWare Fusion and Windows XP loaded on my MacBookPro as an alternative setup (actually, now several series of MacBookPros).

GS911 runs in the XP environment fine on the MacBookPro. Same with the BMW RepRom, by the way. Same with my Scala Cardo headset software, also by the way. :-)

If you're a long-term GS owner and do your own wrenching it's hard to see how one would do without a GS911. I love mine.

Now if only I could get a good throttle body balancing set up, without having to have several tens of feet of rubber hose hanging in my garage. (And, no, I'm not going the TwinMax route again.)
I wish I could find a source for mercury for a manometer...oil is messy and not as well damped.
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 10:56 PM   #25
VEGASGSA
Need more Summer
 
VEGASGSA's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The Northwet..
Oddometer: 6,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
I wish I could find a source for mercury for a manometer...oil is messy and not as well damped.
And not nearly as fun to play with when you spill it all over..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
You are not half as ugly as I thought you would be!
VEGASGSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 03:23 AM   #26
billdonna
Ex Coelis
 
billdonna's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Niagara, Canada
Oddometer: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
I wish I could find a source for mercury for a manometer...oil is messy and not as well damped.

You want more damping? Try 90 weight gear oil or put a restrictor in line to dampen it down. A small brass plug with a 1/16" drilled hole will do the trick.

Personally I use ATF and it works fine, very sensitive.
__________________
I do not intend to tiptoe through life, only to arrive safely at death
billdonna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 03:27 AM   #27
200GRLSWC
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Oddometer: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
I wish I could find a source for mercury for a manometer...oil is messy and not as well damped.
I just used water and food coloring in my set-up, worked fine for my '08 GSA. Set it up as a dual (of course) water column from floor to ceiling in garage, with enough spare tubing to run from ceiling back down to engine, with water level about mid-way to ceiling. Never had more than a foot of movement, quickly settled down to a few inches.

It works fine, precise enough to get a good balance, just a pain in the ass to set up. And, of course, can't do it under load, if that's important to you.

Also, the colored water will stain whatever it is spilled on, takes a long time for the color to fade even from a driveway. DAMHIK.
200GRLSWC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 03:37 AM   #28
teomannaskali
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Plaka 34
Oddometer: 738
If you tubes are clear and have high enough diameter, you could put a small floating ball in there. Like a "ball" of styrofoam or bb pellet type of thingie.


Good illumination will also help.
teomannaskali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 04:22 AM   #29
Pukmeister
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Oddometer: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by 200GRLSWC View Post

Now if only I could get a good throttle body balancing set up, without having to have several tens of feet of rubber hose hanging in my garage. (And, no, I'm not going the TwinMax route again.)
I use a Harmonizer, bought on this site. The best throttle balance tool there is.
Pukmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 07:06 AM   #30
VEGASGSA
Need more Summer
 
VEGASGSA's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: The Northwet..
Oddometer: 6,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdonna View Post
You want more damping? Try 90 weight gear oil or put a restrictor in line to dampen it down. A small brass plug with a 1/16" drilled hole will do the trick.

Personally I use ATF and it works fine, very sensitive.
+1 ATF works well..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
You are not half as ugly as I thought you would be!
VEGASGSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014