ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2013, 09:32 PM   #1
DougD OP
Adventurer
 
DougD's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Birmingham AL
Oddometer: 21
changed the oil and fuel filter, now i have real trouble!!

as the title says, I changed both of those items on my 02 1150gs (65k miles) and buttoned everything back up and cranked it for a test ride and this is where it stands now:

it runs really rough. idles rough and i have to feather the throttle to keep it from dyeing. Assumed it was the fact that it was low fuel after draining most of it (even though I put about a half gallon or more back in)... went to the station and topped it off. not much difference if any.

it acts like its missing intermittenly??

then I return home and decide to look everything over and see if perhaps I can see a loose something?

and I notice a terrible rattling sound. seems that its coming from the transmission or clutch. when I pull in the clutch lever it goes away. when i let it out....rattling. sounds like marbles in a coffee can.

so is this a terrible coincidence? does it sound like the dreaded input shaft chew. or perhaps a broken friction disc?

please advice!!!
DougD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:40 PM   #2
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 46,904
One of your throttle cables is pulled loose from the throttle body!



So comon everyone should know about it by now.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:46 PM   #3
DougD OP
Adventurer
 
DougD's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Birmingham AL
Oddometer: 21
you're correct. the cable housing on the right side appears to be broken loose at the base.... i just assumed it had been that way....

thanks.

any ideas on the trans.?
DougD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:48 PM   #4
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 46,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougD View Post
you're correct. the cable housing on the right side appears to be broken loose at the base.... i just assumed it had been that way....

thanks.

any ideas on the trans.?
Believe it or not, that is pretty normal. It will be less noisey once the motor runs smoother, but it will still rattle some.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:48 PM   #5
Mike Ryder
Kriegerkuh
 
Mike Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Peachland B.C. Canada
Oddometer: 860
Chorus "The cables on the bikes go in and out, in and out."

Repeat monthly
__________________
Yes I am quite serious.
Mike Ryder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 09:53 PM   #6
DougD OP
Adventurer
 
DougD's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Birmingham AL
Oddometer: 21
no kidding?

so is it sending two different throttle positions to the computer?

man i hope you're spot on. so tempted to go try it at midnight!!! or actually 1am if you consider the time change this weekend.
DougD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:00 PM   #7
Mike Ryder
Kriegerkuh
 
Mike Ryder's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Peachland B.C. Canada
Oddometer: 860
The throttle plates are not syncronizyated when one is yanked up and the other is just doing the normal thing.
__________________
Yes I am quite serious.
Mike Ryder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 10:43 PM   #8
Jazz62
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Midwest
Oddometer: 903
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougD View Post
you're correct. the cable housing on the right side appears to be broken loose at the base.
Post a pic of what you mean by this ^

In the "incorrect" pic JVB posted the cable end is not broken, it's just not seated inside the knurled adjuster they way it is in the "correct" pic.

ps - I PM'd you about your windshield parts.

Jazz62 screwed with this post 03-10-2013 at 01:01 AM
Jazz62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 11:26 PM   #9
vagueout
Beastly Adventurer
 
vagueout's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: sydney, east
Oddometer: 1,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougD View Post
no kidding?

so is it sending two different throttle positions to the computer?

man i hope you're spot on. so tempted to go try it at midnight!!! or actually 1am if you consider the time change this weekend.
Nothing to do with the computer. Because the cables are pulling on the butterflies unevenly, hence way out of sync, the engine is not turning and pulsing smoothly and thats why your transmission suddenly sounds like a bucket of loose bolts. This little episode you have experienced has been shared by many before you!!
__________________
i just seek clarity
vagueout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014