ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 01:39 PM   #1
Tech Director OP
Travelin' Man
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The Beautiful South
Oddometer: 30
07 GSA shows empty (FUEL!)

Greeting all,

I have taken a look at the various threads about some of the fuel strip issues but think I might have a slightly different issue. Wanted to get some people's thoughts before I head to the dealer.

I pulled the fuel tank to get to the ABS control module as it faulted and had to go to Module Master (they did a great job by the way). Just reassembled everything and the bike runs just fine. The only issue is that now I get the yellow triangle with the FUEL! warning. And before you ask, yes I did put some fuel in the tank after getting it back together! I could actually live without the gauge, but that light will drive me bonkers.

All connections seem to be solid and I believe all fuel hoses and vent lines are routed correctly. It just seems a little too coincidental that my fuel strip went bad while the tank was off.

Is this just a reset at the dealer? Or are there any other tricks I should try?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions...
__________________
-------------
Dum Spiro, Spero
Tech Director is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 03:02 PM   #2
Marki_GSA
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Scotland
Oddometer: 363
Wire/connector broken, strip broken or the strip has come loose and is floating on top of the fuel. Neither are unheard of.
Marki_GSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:10 PM   #3
jzeiler
ADWrencher
 
jzeiler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hazel Green, AL
Oddometer: 108
Sometimes after a disconnect it takes the ZFE module a while to assess fuel level. If it does not go away after a full tank and a few miles on the road you may have a failed fuel strip. Just give it a ZAP with a BBQ starter as shown it the other posts, may bring it back to life.
__________________
John
2009 R1200GS
2005 K1200LT
K4AN
jzeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:22 PM   #4
Tech Director OP
Travelin' Man
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: The Beautiful South
Oddometer: 30
So I zapped it with my new $10 BBQ tool and then pulled the fuel pump out and checked all the connections. Put it back together and lo and behold the error is gone. Too bad I cracked the $7 plastic supporting ring...going to order another and then hopefully good to go.

Thanks for the replies.
__________________
-------------
Dum Spiro, Spero
Tech Director is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014