ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 12:23 PM   #1
erkmania OP
Still Adventuring
 
erkmania's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 895
Power Brake Flushing and Codes

(Summary: 2005GS, servo brakes, flushing brakes and codes. Code(s) reset needed?)

Hey folks. I just read the procedure for bleeding the power brake system and learned that the instructions are for the 1150GS. I'm not worried about the bleeding process since I have a decent handle on that. What I really wanted to know was whether a code or codes would be triggered that needed resetting on a 2005 GS. I was told by the dealer that codes WOULD be activated and hence my search. I would expect a code each for the fuel pump controller and the fuel level sender since they would be disconnected during the service if any codes would be triggered. My hope is that the codes are soft and don't cause the dash indicator to light up.

Am I at a point where I need the GS911 for this or can I let the soft codes be? I realize the right answer is buy the GS911, but that's not in my immediate hand of cards.

I will continue searching the web for more info. Thanks for any input and if I blundered by not searching hard enough then please let me know that too.
__________________
-Sticks and stones, love.
-Insurmountable problems exist in the imaginations of the less traveled.

2011 BMW R1200GS, 2004 KTM 950, 1996 ATK 605 ESDS
erkmania is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:27 PM   #2
jzeiler
ADWrencher
 
jzeiler's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Hazel Green, AL
Oddometer: 108
I believe yours uses a similar system to that in the K1200LT, servo brakes. This system is self clearing of any faults once they have been corrected. So a flush should not even set a code as I have done dozens of them on the LTs with no issues. Maybe some one with actual 05 GS experiance will chime in but I don't think you have anything to worry about.
__________________
John
2009 R1200GS (Gone)
2005 K1200LT
2009 K300GT
K4AN
jzeiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:32 PM   #3
erkmania OP
Still Adventuring
 
erkmania's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 895
^^^ Thanks for the quick reply. I think you're right, but I still don't know about the other codes.

I got my ears up.
__________________
-Sticks and stones, love.
-Insurmountable problems exist in the imaginations of the less traveled.

2011 BMW R1200GS, 2004 KTM 950, 1996 ATK 605 ESDS
erkmania is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 02:07 PM   #4
terryckdbf
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Perry, Ga
Oddometer: 917
Never had a code show up on mine. There is a procedure to reset the code without a GS-911 or dealer if ya look in Wisdom.

Keep fluid in it and you will be fine.

Terry
terryckdbf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 03:00 PM   #5
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,366
If you bleed the brakes correctly, following the Wisdom instructions (even for the R1200), you will not get a code. Your dealer is FOS!

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:33 PM   #6
erkmania OP
Still Adventuring
 
erkmania's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Oddometer: 895
^^^ Thanks. The dealer does have his own motivations. Sadly, his don't mirror mine.

No soft codes either?

What's that about a code reset on the 1200's? I haven't heard that one. Please tell.

Once again. Thanks all.
__________________
-Sticks and stones, love.
-Insurmountable problems exist in the imaginations of the less traveled.

2011 BMW R1200GS, 2004 KTM 950, 1996 ATK 605 ESDS
erkmania is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:40 PM   #7
rdwalker
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Badlands (of NJ)
Oddometer: 2,529
The procedure is very simple, no codes. It takes more time to prep and clean than to actually do the brakes.

A good tip is to use 3 clear tubes (or 6 tubes) at one time on the modulator, to avoid having to move the drain tube as you move from nipple to nipple. It was suggested here in another thread on this forum - worked very well for me. The servo system is a true one-man job, since the power pump allows easy flushing of the brake circuit, no need for speed bleeders or such.

I just did my '03 RT (servo), '06 GS (servo) and '09 GS (non-servo) and it took me the same amount of time and trouble for each bike. The R1150 and R1200 iABS (servo) systems are the same.



Off-season is the time to do it, as you pull the bodywork for other service as well.

rdwalker screwed with this post 02-18-2013 at 07:47 PM
rdwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:12 PM   #8
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 49,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by erkmania View Post
^^^ Thanks. The dealer does have his own motivations. Sadly, his don't mirror mine.

No soft codes either?

What's that about a code reset on the 1200's? I haven't heard that one. Please tell.

Once again. Thanks all.
The only code reset that needs to be done is on the 2008 and newer bikes that require the service reminder to be reset. Otherwise, there are none from brake bleeding.

Jim

PS Wow, that photo above! I do it much less complicated.
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 09:27 PM   #9
rdwalker
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: The Badlands (of NJ)
Oddometer: 2,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
.. Wow, that photo above! I do it much less complicated.
That's what I thought when I saw it first, too. But I duplicated that setup (actually only used 3 tubes, for just one circuit at a time) and it was surprisingly easier to work with than the normal procedure with a single tube.

The point of that exercise was that I could install the tubes when everything was nice and dry and I could work the nipples without spilling and splashing, without having to move the tubes from one nipple to another.

I know it does look weird, but I am a convert to this method now.

rdwalker screwed with this post 02-18-2013 at 09:52 PM
rdwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014