ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 06:42 PM   #1
ABuck99 OP
0.0
 
ABuck99's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 553
Rekluse KTM 950/990 Adjustable Slave Cylinder

Has anyone installed the Rekluse Adjustable Slave Cylinder? Looking at the parts diagram it apears to have a 3 seal piston like the Sigutech. My original slave failed today and Im looking at all options including Rekluse.

Thanks

__________________
KTM: 06 KTM950S & 10 KTM450EXC
ABuck99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:01 PM   #2
DuctTape
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 351
So you have the stock clutch and want to use the Rekluse slave? I have the Rkluse clutch and slave and not sure why you'd want the slave with the stock clutch?
__________________
2013 KTM 690 (Thanks FLHRCI Buyer! )
2011 990 Adventure Dakar (Thank you Honey!)
2010 Aprilia RSV4 Factory
2010 Ducati 1198S
DuctTape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:58 PM   #3
cjracer
AWD please!!
 
cjracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Mukwonago, WI
Oddometer: 3,964
You can use the Rekluse Slave with the OEM clutch.

We have the Rekluse and Oberon Slaves available. Email if you have any questions.

If you are looking to upgrade to the EXP system in the future, the Rekluse slave purchase now makes the most sense if you need a replacement.
__________________
My 2006 950S thread. 2006 950s update
New product updates here! Wordpress BLOG
click www.cjdesignsllc.com for the full line of products. FREE STUFF!!
cjracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:33 AM   #4
ABuck99 OP
0.0
 
ABuck99's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 553
Thank you-

Ducttape- yeah rekluse states that their slave can be used as a standalone replacement to the oem slave.

CJ- I may upgrade to the Rekluse clutch later on. What affect if any does the adjustable slave have on the stock clutch pack? Can the rekluse slave and the oberon mount be used together?

Thx
__________________
KTM: 06 KTM950S & 10 KTM450EXC
ABuck99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:14 AM   #5
cjracer
AWD please!!
 
cjracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Location: Mukwonago, WI
Oddometer: 3,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABuck99 View Post
Thank you-

Ducttape- yeah rekluse states that their slave can be used as a standalone replacement to the oem slave.

CJ- I may upgrade to the Rekluse clutch later on. What affect if any does the adjustable slave have on the stock clutch pack? Can the rekluse slave and the oberon mount be used together?

Thx
Rekluse slave/ stock clutch pack - works as OEM should, just don't put any pressure on pushrod like you would with the Rekluse EXP system installed.

Yes, the Billet backer is a great upgrade for any LC8 engine to keep the clutch slave square with the engine for long life. I have those in orange or black.
__________________
My 2006 950S thread. 2006 950s update
New product updates here! Wordpress BLOG
click www.cjdesignsllc.com for the full line of products. FREE STUFF!!
cjracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 06:50 PM   #6
rechenagucia
Ride Safe
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Queens
Oddometer: 4
Off topic

Hi:

Can you tell me if I can fit "Quick Disconnect fuel fittings KTM- Billet" on a 1190 Adventure R? Thanks.
rechenagucia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 07:38 PM   #7
KaytM
Just a fella.
 
KaytM's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland.
Oddometer: 202
Not an ADV but a helpful Rekluse Install Video for the Adjustable Slave Cylinder.
__________________
2006.5 990 ADVENTURE.
KaytM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 09:17 PM   #8
AutoXfreak
Gnarly Adventurer
 
AutoXfreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Denver
Oddometer: 118
I put a Rekluse slave in mine after the stock unit failed. Run the stock clutch and works great! Hope to upgrade to the EXP soon.
__________________
950 Adventure
AutoXfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 08:38 AM   #9
JRod152
will work for tires
 
JRod152's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KC, KS... flat&boringville
Oddometer: 270
Positive on the friction & steel disc removal??? Of important note... the Rekluse drive plates are thinner than the OEM. I'm sure you know this if you followed the video & written instructions. Might double check, though since you seem to have a "growing" free-play gain issue. They also have a specific break-in procedure... I'm sure it's "wore in" now though.

Check your clutch oil jet for good measure as well, to make sure it's not clogged, causing excessive heat, etc.

Water in oil from WP seal failure?

I'd call their customer service. They are known in this industry as one of few companies that give exceptional customer service.

(866) 735-5873

Best of luck. Keep us posted.
__________________
"Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have"
JRod152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 04:55 PM   #10
Mesjr
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2013
Location: Kc mo
Oddometer: 143
Could it possably be air in the line ?
Mesjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 09:04 PM   #11
JRod152
will work for tires
 
JRod152's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KC, KS... flat&boringville
Oddometer: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mesjr View Post
Could it possably be air in the line ?
My next thought too. I'm sure you bled it for the install.

Only other immediate thought... Did you install the ball bearing? It can be pesky and require a bit of grease to hold in place correctly.
__________________
"Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have"
JRod152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 11:55 PM   #12
BigTony
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Oddometer: 224
When I first installed my Rekluse I had some slippage. I didn't notice that the outer most friction disk that rides against the pressure plate is actually different from the other friction disks (it doesn't look that different, but it's a different P/N). I had left this one out accidentally. I swapped it in to correct the problem, as well as measured the thickness of all my steels and used the thickest ones, and haven't any slippage since. Just throwing that out there since it didn't seem that clear from the Rekluse install video
BigTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 02:33 AM   #13
Pete640
I hate sand.......
 
Pete640's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Sanding something in the shed...
Oddometer: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1coolbanana View Post
All bled............balls in place (in wifes hand bag)

Clutch lever never felt better......slave just needs to be adjusted every few hundred k's when it slips
Try re-installing the oem steels. that may remove a variable if they are still within spec.
I have the rekluse but run the oem plates and no issues to note so far
__________________
Pete
For those who sit at home and dream-let them...Meoni
Pete640 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 11:20 PM   #14
SE Steve
Super Noob
 
SE Steve's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: So Cal
Oddometer: 220
Great I just installed a Rekluse in my 950 I hope I don't have any problems with it over the next few days. I'm going to pack the plates just in case. More crap to carry.
SE Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 08:19 AM   #15
JRod152
will work for tires
 
JRod152's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KC, KS... flat&boringville
Oddometer: 270
[QUOTE=1coolbanana;23790313]FYI
Middle plate is the outside plate.
This is the difference, different looking friction material and wider pads.
Exactly the same thickness though.

...so...

Did it work? All good now?
__________________
"Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have"
JRod152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014