ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 01:01 PM   #1
Super. OP
n00b
 
Super.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 8
Puke Trail Tech Vapor Locked?

So I just got a new (used) KLR 650 with a Trail Tech Vapor. It was set to the wrong time and I foolishly tried to just randomly press some of the buttons. Was able to reset the trip info, but now I can't do anything. No button or button combination held for any length of time has any effect. Do I have to use the reset button or is their something I am missing?
Super. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 01:21 PM   #2
Bronco638
Nobody Home
 
Bronco638's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Itasca, IL
Oddometer: 3,496
Here's a LINK for the Vapor User's Manual. Does that help?
__________________
There are some simple thruths......and dogs know what they are - Joseph Duemer

Andy holds the lead. And he will, all the way to the Highway. Today is his day.
Bronco638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 09:30 AM   #3
JustinY
n00b
 
Joined: Dec 2012
Oddometer: 4
Is there anything displayed on the screen now? The first thing I would recommend doing would be to press the reset button on the back of the computer and then replace the internal battery.
JustinY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:07 PM   #4
Super. OP
n00b
 
Super.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 8
Cry

I already consulted the users manual, but there was nothing about locking it or the buttons not working. I pressed the reset switch but the after it came back it still refused to respond to any input. The speedo and tach still work as well as the temperature gauge and he clock (though it is a few hours off). Do you think that the buttons just got fried or mayb just somehow disconnected?
Super. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:05 PM   #5
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
how is the battery? are you hooking up to 12 volts or running off the little battery?
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:29 PM   #6
Super. OP
n00b
 
Super.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Oddometer: 8
12 volt
Super. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:10 PM   #7
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: madera california
Oddometer: 4,809
well that takes care of the bad battery idea. my vapor had a problem with the backlight and 12 volt hookup so i just used the battery it came with. about a year later the battery went out so i put a new battery and all of a sudden the backlight started working. i dont know what it was but maybe i got one with a bad connection. its been working perfect now for the last year or so.
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:42 AM   #8
Bronco638
Nobody Home
 
Bronco638's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Location: Itasca, IL
Oddometer: 3,496
Maybe it's time to contact Trail Tech. When I have called them, in the past, they have been quite helpful.
__________________
There are some simple thruths......and dogs know what they are - Joseph Duemer

Andy holds the lead. And he will, all the way to the Highway. Today is his day.
Bronco638 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014