ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2013, 11:31 AM   #1
Bishop8pi OP
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 3
BMW R60/5 Instrument Repair

I had the chance to buy a Franken-Beemer over the winter for a pretty good price. This is my first motorcycle rebuild.

The bike is a 1972 BMW R60/5 with a 1970 R75/5 engine. Frame is straight but every pc of chrome and steel is rusted. The bike had been sitting in a garage since 1994 with a full fuel tank. Amazingly having a full tank of old non-ethanol era fuel kept the tank and internals in good condition. With the exception of oxidation the engine is in pretty clean on the inside. As for everything else im going to need new rear shocks, wheel bearings, brakes, tires, seat, and anything plastic or rubber on the bike... it's going to be a fun project.

After rebuilding the carbs twice (i missed the fact the first time around that the bowls did not match the 1970 Bing CV carbs) the bike starts up and runs. The idle is fast but I believe I can slow that down once i adjust the cables.

Right now I'm looking for someone who can rebuild a speedo and tach. I also have shorts in both handlebar switches as well as the front brake lever.

Bishop8pi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:37 AM   #2
jbcaddy
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Oroville & Placerville, California U.S.ofA.
Oddometer: 1,176
try wirespokes, he posts frequently here.
jbcaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:41 AM   #3
Big Bamboo
Aircooled & Sunbaked
 
Big Bamboo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Big Island of Hawaii
Oddometer: 2,654
Get new tires first, before you are tempted to take it up to speed. The high idle could just be a sticking advance unit, remove, clean, lubricate with special grease and replace. It probably needs it anyway. There are currently reproduction speedometers available for about what you'll pay for someone to "maybe" fix yours right...
Big Bamboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:00 PM   #4
backdrifter
Wannabe rider
 
backdrifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Belleville, IL
Oddometer: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbcaddy View Post
try wirespokes, he posts frequently here.
This. Wirespokes restored mine to as-new condition quickly and for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended!
__________________
"We are very good at preparing to live, but not very good at living."
-Thich Nhat Hanh

1973 BMW R60/5:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=608166
backdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:21 PM   #5
Bishop8pi OP
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bamboo View Post
Get new tires first, before you are tempted to take it up to speed. The high idle could just be a sticking advance unit, remove, clean, lubricate with special grease and replace. It probably needs it anyway. There are currently reproduction speedometers available for about what you'll pay for someone to "maybe" fix yours right...
Tires and shocks are on the list to be changed before it leaves the driveway.

I'll take a look at the advance. Thanks
Bishop8pi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:25 PM   #6
Bishop8pi OP
n00b
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia
Oddometer: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by backdrifter View Post
This. Wirespokes restored mine to as-new condition quickly and for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended!
PM sent... thanks
Bishop8pi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:00 AM   #7
Wirespokes
Beemerholics Anonymous
 
Wirespokes's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Jackson's Bottom Oregon
Oddometer: 7,748
Got the PM!

As for the reproductions - I haven't seen one for the /5. The one for the R80G/S didn't impress me - more than just the absence of a trip meter.
__________________
Wanted: Dead, smashed, crashed or trashed gauges
BMW GAUGE REPAIRS - TACH*SPEEDO*CLOCK*VOLT METER *PODs & LIGHT BOARD*
Wirespokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:41 AM   #8
Big Bamboo
Aircooled & Sunbaked
 
Big Bamboo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Big Island of Hawaii
Oddometer: 2,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wirespokes View Post
Got the PM!

As for the reproductions - I haven't seen one for the /5. The one for the R80G/S didn't impress me - more than just the absence of a trip meter.
Uli's has them for 283 Euros, but only in kph : http://www.ulismotorradladen.de/uli/...M-counter.aspx

Big Bamboo screwed with this post 01-22-2013 at 09:51 AM
Big Bamboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:50 AM   #9
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 7,972
If this bike hasn't been driven yet how do you know the instruments don't work?

No fuses on a /5 I guess, I don't know. But you can check the wiring and the cables for the speedo and the tach. Actually I guess if the rear wheel is off the ground on the center stand and if not put some blocks of wood under the stand then the spedo can be checked.

Has the idle come down yet with cleaning the advance unit?
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, piratejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 01:14 PM   #10
JonnyCash
turd polisher
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Midcoast, Maine
Oddometer: 1,350
^ late /5s do have a couple of fuses in the headlight bucket. I think the break was at the same time they went to the LWB, but I'm not sure. I doubt that a 72 has fuses, but it's easy to find out.Mine is a 71 and it does not have fuses. When I got mine, it was not running because the entire wiring harness was fried, because it didn't have fuses.
__________________
I wouldn't bring her home to Mama, but Mama ain't home tonight.
JonnyCash is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:44 PM   #11
Big Bamboo
Aircooled & Sunbaked
 
Big Bamboo's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Big Island of Hawaii
Oddometer: 2,654
I have a '72, no fuses.
Big Bamboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:40 PM   #12
StephenB
G(/)S ... what else!
 
StephenB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Ontario
Oddometer: 2,046
02/72 SWB R75/5 = 2 fuses in headlight
__________________

Some of the above is fact, some is fiction, some is my personal imagination and some is just simple truth. [me]

... i'm not touring around the world, but neither are most of the guys i see running overloaded spam cans ... [bmwblake]

Stephen Bottcher
Ontario, Canada

'72 R75/5 The Blues

www.stephenbottcher.net
StephenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:47 PM   #13
backdrifter
Wannabe rider
 
backdrifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Belleville, IL
Oddometer: 1,363
Mine is a 1973 R60/5 and also has two fuses in the headlight. They are the two blocky/tubular things located at about 5 o'clock in this photo:

__________________
"We are very good at preparing to live, but not very good at living."
-Thich Nhat Hanh

1973 BMW R60/5:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=608166
backdrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014