ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 07:35 PM   #16
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpatch View Post
It sure would be nice if all of the USFS would get in line with the Black Hills NF. The Black Hills has the MVUM's in a garmin format that can be loaded to most garmin's with a few mouse clicks.
Yes they did a great job. That is nice for the many people who trailer there, unload, and ride around but Duals Sport and Adv riders need the information integrated into big maps.

There is another group, Friends of Jawbone and California Trail Users Coalition that are doing something like that at OwlsheadGPS.com
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:12 PM   #17
mpatch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: N Colorado
Oddometer: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Yes they did a great job. That is nice for the many people who trailer there, unload, and ride around but Duals Sport and Adv riders need the information integrated into big maps.

There is another group, Friends of Jawbone and California Trail Users Coalition that are doing something like that at OwlsheadGPS.com
When installing the map you can select add to existing maps and it will overlay other maps or you can download the IMG file and use gmap to install it into mapsource or base camp. I currently have it installed with CNNA, OSM, and my trails
mpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:10 PM   #18
River Pilot
"Razor Six"
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming
Oddometer: 62
Good afternoon Epy,

You might find this information helpful.

Regarding maps, whether City Navigator or TOPO, this information should prove useful.

River Pilot
Cheyenne, WY. U.S.A.
Web: www.riverspilot.com
River Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:01 PM   #19
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpatch View Post
When installing the map you can select add to existing maps and it will overlay other maps or you can download the IMG file and use gmap to install it into mapsource or base camp. I currently have it installed with CNNA, OSM, and my trails
You need to contact the experts on this. Try WildHog (Scott).

In general, no with Garmin maps. You can have several installed but only see one at once. However I think there are some non-Garmin maps that are transparent and do overlay.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:23 AM   #20
mpatch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: N Colorado
Oddometer: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
You need to contact the experts on this. Try WildHog (Scott).

In general, no with Garmin maps. You can have several installed but only see one at once. However I think there are some non-Garmin maps that are transparent and do overlay.
You can make any map overlay or transparent using map set toolkit. Most garmin maps have a priority of 30 ( the highest is 31) so any map that's lower than that and not transparent will be hidden by the higher priority map. I tried making OSM overlay CNNA but it screwed up auto routing.
mpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:58 AM   #21
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpatch View Post
You can make any map overlay or transparent using map set toolkit. .
Perhaps you could use your "map set toolkit" to make you sugestion clear!

Which button on my 76Cx gets the toolkit?
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:43 AM   #22
mpatch
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Location: N Colorado
Oddometer: 869
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Perhaps you could use your "map set toolkit" to make you sugestion clear!

Which button on my 76Cx gets the toolkit?
Google it. Learn to use it along with gmap, gpsbabel, and cgpsmapper. You can then customize your maps to your liking along with adding IMG map files, making maps overlay or be transparent etc. For myself I have spent many hours dicking around finding out what works and what doesn't.
mpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014