ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2013, 06:15 PM   #1
sintax OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
Wiring for BD 8" race light

I picked up a 8" race light, but its missing the plug. It looks like they cut the wires for whatever reason. What would be a good waterproof plug to use? Should be running 100w through it.

I think I'll be running the the wiring straight from the stator to the light, running 100w AC w/o a switch. Any downsides? Obviously the light would not be on when the bikes not running, but I dont have a battery on the bike as is anyway, just a nicad battery pack.

Thanks
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 08:55 PM   #2
shiryas
Dragon with matches
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Western Colorado
Oddometer: 75
I never wire directly 'hot' through a switch, they tend to overheat and then fail.

It is far better to power the light with a correct amperage fuse, then to a relay and then on to the light. The relay can be triggered with whatever switch you want to use. The most common relay for headlights is an 85 or 87 five terminal type.

If you just bought your light yesterday off Craigslist in Lakewood CA, my phone call was 10 minutes after yours, DOH!

Cheers, Chris
shiryas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:21 PM   #3
shiryas
Dragon with matches
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Western Colorado
Oddometer: 75
Course if your not running a battery then you need to do things similar to above but also include a voltage regulator and capacitor.

Cheers, Chris
shiryas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 10:26 PM   #4
sintax OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: So.Cal
Oddometer: 495
I see your point. I'll most likely do just that. I can just use the baja designs DSK +12v as a trigger since its already using the switch. Seems like a wise idea.

Oh, and nope, that was not me. I picked mine up from a local D37 racer.
sintax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014