ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > Equipment
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 12:06 PM   #1
seniorasi OP
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
Fuse block

Not having much luck with searches these days so humble apologies in advance. I've ordered a toolbox for the R12GSA that will attach inside the right pannier bracket and will require removal of the rear mudguard. I'll be eliminating the factory tool kit, using the term loosely, and adding a fuse block in it's place. Any suggestions for brand, model?
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 12:15 PM   #2
crowos
Adventurer
 
crowos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Oddometer: 20
Fuzeblock is a good one

I have this http://www.fuzeblocks.com/ installed under my seat and like it.
crowos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 12:36 PM   #3
seniorasi OP
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
That does appear to be a nice one. Anyone used this brand and can reflect on longevity?
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 12:51 PM   #4
crowos
Adventurer
 
crowos's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Oddometer: 20
I've had it installed for about the last 2 years with no issues. Its a good peice of kit. I run my usb power outlet, heated jacket liner, heated seat, and my charger for my phone from it.
crowos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:07 PM   #5
seniorasi OP
Banned
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Edge of the light
Oddometer: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowos View Post
I've had it installed for about the last 2 years with no issues. Its a good peice of kit. I run my usb power outlet, heated jacket liner, heated seat, and my charger for my phone from it.
Exactly what I had in mind! Done deal, I'll order one and thank you for the input.
seniorasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:19 PM   #6
STUFF2C
We Ain't Left Yet!!
 
STUFF2C's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: O-lando
Oddometer: 2,793
I AM such a cheap fkr, i just use inline fuses. $2-$3 or less each

1 for my lights
1 for my 2 acc plugs for heated cloths
1 for my other 2 acc plugs for my GPS and Phone.

$80 for a fuse block with parts that can fail... no thanks
__________________
Thanks to the Interstate Highway System, it is now possible to travel from coast to coast without seeing anything.
-- Charles Kuralt

I never plan a ride, just the destination and that's always subject to change.
STUFF2C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 01:28 PM   #7
Saluki9397
Adventurer
 
Saluki9397's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: Southern Illinois
Oddometer: 28
I use the same fuse block. I have had it installed for about 6 months. It is easy to install and I have no problems with it. good luck
Saluki9397 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:27 PM   #8
Dan-M
Studly Adventurer
 
Dan-M's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Westbound
Oddometer: 915
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowos View Post
I have this http://www.fuzeblocks.com/ installed under my seat and like it.
Same here. Compact and well made.
__________________
---
Dan-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:41 PM   #9
GB
Mod Squad
 
GB's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Oddometer: 55,815
this one's even better:

http://advrider.com/forums/showthrea...638076&page=11
__________________
ADV decals, patches & flag? Here
GB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 02:55 PM   #10
Twilight Error
Going nowhere slowly
 
Twilight Error's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2002
Location: The Submarine Mines
Oddometer: 22,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by STUFF2C View Post
I AM such a cheap fkr, i just use inline fuses. $2-$3 or less each

1 for my lights
1 for my 2 acc plugs for heated cloths
1 for my other 2 acc plugs for my GPS and Phone.

$80 for a fuse block with parts that can fail... no thanks
If it works for you, and you're content with a nest of inline fuse holders, more power to you. The better fuse blocks incorporate a circuit that lets you choose switched or always on power for your accessories.
__________________
If you're all about the destination, take a fucking flight.
Twilight Error is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:28 PM   #11
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 50,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB View Post
Nice unit, but not as flexable as the fuzeblock, and almost twice as expensive.

I like that the Fuzeblock has the ability to switch between fuzed and not fused, and you can set your fuses at whatever you need. Further, if the relay fails, you can switch back to a simple fused connection.



Quick install on my friend's bike, and I have one for mine as well.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 06:31 PM   #12
atgatt
Gnarly Adventurer
 
atgatt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Oddometer: 103
I have had a fuzeblock for 2 years with no issues. It's a good product but if I had to do it again, I would get the eastern beaver fuse block. Just seems more durable and less prone to weather/water etc...


http://www.easternbeaver.com/Main/Wi...PC-8/pc-8.html
atgatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 07:04 PM   #13
steve_k
Beastly Adventurer
 
steve_k's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Rancho Bernardo (San Diego)
Oddometer: 1,061
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowos View Post
I have this http://www.fuzeblocks.com/ installed under my seat and like it.
I have one on both rides and so far so good. Easy install.
steve_k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 09:56 PM   #14
guitarin
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Oddometer: 176
I used a 6 circuit fuse block from Autozone ($7.00) and a Ford fuel pump relay ($4.00). Fits and works perfect, 20k miles.
guitarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:24 AM   #15
duck
Banned
 
duck's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: Seattle (Berkeley with rain)
Oddometer: 10,403
About $5:


The electrons don't care how much I paid for it.
duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014