Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 08:18 PM   #1
avgas OP
amateur

Oddometer: 81
Dual sport gps

I'm a gps noob, so forgive my ignorance. I've been reading through the posts here, but it's only gotten me so far...

I'm looking for gps that can handle rough dual sport use. My understanding is I'll need tracks for offroad, as well as routes for directions on the road. It'll also be used occasionally for xc skiing, car trips, etc. I don't do week + road trips on the motorcycle, so running it off batteries might be ok? (if it's a unit with usb power) Screen size isn't much of an issue, I can live with slowing down to read the thing.

So far I'm leaning towards the garmin 62s or 78s. I don't see the 78s on REI's website, and I was leaning towards buying it from them because of the easy returns. Maybe the deals elsewhere are so much better that I should forget about REI though...

Anyway, would those units work well for me? Are there other ones I should consider? I don't really want to spend much more than the 62/78s, and cheaper is always better.
Old 01-28-2013, 11:33 PM   #2
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,888
62 will not run on 12 V.

78 from WestMarine.com $200

62/78 just ok for simple car use, cheap Nuvi is 100 times better.

The best "Does it all" would be Montana
Old 01-29-2013, 01:13 AM   #3
BrewMoto
Adventurer

Oddometer: 61
The 62 is pretty sweet. Mine was stolen and now I have an Oregon. I gotta say, I prefer the 62 for a couple reasons:
- The touch-screen on the Oregon, Montana, etc. is nearly impossible to use w/heavy gloves. Even with my burly ice climbing gloves, I could hit the buttons on the 62 with relative ease.
- The matte plastic touch screen is really tough to read when it's dimmed (much unlike the 62 series, which has a glass screen that looks great and is less affected by glare when the backlight isn't activated)