ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2012, 02:49 PM   #1
GH41 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 822
Hard wireing GPS mount?

I have a Garmin Montana and rugged mount ordered. Can I wire it directly to the battery without issues? Bike is a 2012 F650. GH

GH41 screwed with this post 01-10-2012 at 03:48 PM
GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:59 PM   #2
Casejeep
Studly Adventurer
 
Casejeep's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Lake Powell or Flagstaff
Oddometer: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by GH41 View Post
I have a Garmin Montana and rugged mount ordered. Can I wire it directly to the battery without issues? Bike is a 2112 F650. GH
2112? are you from the future?!?!?!?!?!!?!?
Casejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 03:04 PM   #3
lawe
lawe
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Oddometer: 141
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...&postcount=230
__________________
Lars
Umeå, Sweden
BMW F650GS -05, F800GS -08
lawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
GH41 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casejeep View Post
2112? are you from the future?!?!?!?!?!!?!?
I wish I was from the past about 25-30 years. I used to think my body would age before my mind but I was wrong!! GH

GH41 screwed with this post 01-10-2012 at 03:48 PM
GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 03:40 PM   #5
Casejeep
Studly Adventurer
 
Casejeep's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Lake Powell or Flagstaff
Oddometer: 732
Quote:
Originally Posted by GH41 View Post
I wish I was from the past about 25-30 years. I used to think by body would age before my mind but I was wrong!! GH
Haha i was just dicken' around haha. i knew what you were talking about.
__________________
MY F800 GS Build
Casejeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 03:46 PM   #6
GH41 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 822
Thanks Lawe but I don't understand what I am lookig at. I would just connect the mount harness directly to the battery terminals but I keep hearing about can-bus issues. I can't imagine that would be a problem but I have to ask. GH
GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 04:44 PM   #7
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,334
If you are wiring directly to the battery you are bypassing the CAN-Bus completely, so you are good to go. Don't forget to place a fuse in the circuit somewhere.
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 05:02 PM   #8
señormoto
Supermoto Abuser
 
señormoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: California + Costa Rica
Oddometer: 1,110
I'd recommend not wiring to the battery: you forget to remove the GPS or turn it off and now it's draining your battery. There's an AUX connector just under the airbox / battery cover. Pretty obvious place, it's the first connector you'll see.
__________________
I have a feeling that there are some decisions being made on certain teams lately to make things more complex in order to ensure a certain technological standard of confusion is met.
señormoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:29 PM   #9
grndzr0
its Ground Zero
 
grndzr0's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Montana
Oddometer: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by thematt View Post
I'd recommend not wiring to the battery: you forget to remove the GPS or turn it off and now it's draining your battery. There's an AUX connector just under the airbox / battery cover. Pretty obvious place, it's the first connector you'll see.

I was wondering what that was for. Does anybody know output specs of this connector? Amps, watts, and crap like that.....

Ryan
__________________
2010 F800gs (Mine) 2011 F650gs (Wifes)
grndzr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 08:27 PM   #10
señormoto
Supermoto Abuser
 
señormoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: California + Costa Rica
Oddometer: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by grndzr0 View Post
I was wondering what that was for. Does anybody know output specs of this connector? Amps, watts, and crap like that.....

Ryan
Plug in a multi meter and you'll find out.
__________________
I have a feeling that there are some decisions being made on certain teams lately to make things more complex in order to ensure a certain technological standard of confusion is met.
señormoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 10:42 PM   #11
grndzr0
its Ground Zero
 
grndzr0's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Montana
Oddometer: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by thematt View Post
Plug in a multi meter and you'll find out.
I was thinking more along the lines of when the computer shuts it off for overload. Im assuming it is the same as the powerlet, but just wondering if anybody knew for sure or if it might be listed somewhere.

Ryan
__________________
2010 F800gs (Mine) 2011 F650gs (Wifes)
grndzr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 11:47 PM   #12
lawe
lawe
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Oddometer: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by GH41 View Post
Thanks Lawe but I don't understand what I am lookig at. I would just connect the mount harness directly to the battery terminals but I keep hearing about can-bus issues. I can't imagine that would be a problem but I have to ask. GH
Unless You want Your GPS powered on for as long as You battery can hold up You can use the outlet on top of the battery in the picture. It works great. Your GPS will loose power a minute or so after You turn of the ignition and I havn't had any issues with this mount.
__________________
Lars
Umeå, Sweden
BMW F650GS -05, F800GS -08
lawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 01:01 AM   #13
LukasM
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: On a RTW ride - currently Central Asia
Oddometer: 5,334
I personally always hard wire my GPS to the bike battery, unswitched. I don't have batteries in mine because they would vibrate to death, so it's a pain to have a reboot and new satellite search every time I shut off the bike. Even if I did leave the GPS on the bike when it's parked somewhere for longer, the current draw of a 60CSx is about 200 mA so if I forgot to turn it off while out to lunch or something, it will take almost 70 hours to drain the stock battery.

If you do want yours switched for some reason, both the DIN receptacle on top of the airbox cover, as well as the white plug under it are good choices. You can get power cable for the former from Powerlet, and you can get a connector pigtail for the latter direct from BMW (Part # 83300413585):

(
LukasM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 08:26 AM   #14
toro618
Studly Adventurer
 
toro618's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
Oddometer: 938
For my GPSMAP 62st, I ran direct to battery with one of these http://www.powerlet.com/product/heav...ry-lead-24/107. Then attached standard cigarette adapter http://www.powerlet.com/product/sae-...ket-cables/319.

This setup will allow for multiple uses. Just remember to turn off the device(s) overnight.
toro618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 04:29 PM   #15
GH41 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Oddometer: 822
Thanks a lot guys. I will probably still wire the mount directly to the battery. The kind or riding I do if I am away from the bike the Montana will go with me when I am off of the bike. Thanks again, GH
GH41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014