ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 07:09 AM   #1
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
battery problem?

Good morning, would appreciate some help with this pressing issue..

Bought a '10 bike that has 145 miles, he had the bike on a charger pretty much the whole time.

As soon as i started the bike when i got it, I got the brake failure light and then the empty battery flashing light..

I have ordered the Odysee PC535 from Wunderlich who modded it for me however their bracket is on order (2 weeks) I thought maybe i could hold out HOWEVER last night starting the bike (quite cold) it wont start..i manage to start it and hold the throttle at 10% until the rpm's kick up a little and i know the bike has caught on..

It happened this morning as well!! I called Wunderlich and left a message for Edward asking that he just ship the battery to me ASAP and forget about the bracket.

I just wanted to see if anyone has experience with this and whether i am right to believe this is an issue with the battery?

CHEERS
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:22 AM   #2
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
Had the same issue this morning, going to BMW after work to get them to fit the Yuasa..another question that might be connected..I havent been able to find the Tyre Pressure Control on my menu? I was really looking forward to that feature!!

My fog lights haven;t stayed on since the first day of owning the bike i am hoping this is battery related..jezus i just got the bike and I am having p*roBLems!
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:44 AM   #3
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
thanks to LaurelPerryOnLand

I have learn;t that the brake failure light normally comes on prior to taking off, it then goes off which is what happens..

Phew...one less concern now
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:53 PM   #4
kimokk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
kimokk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: NOVA
Oddometer: 103
Have you read through the owner's manual yet? Lots of helpful tips in there.
__________________
'09 BMW R1200GSA Adventure! (gone)
IBA #49426

kimokk screwed with this post 02-02-2013 at 05:05 PM
kimokk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:55 PM   #5
STUFF2C
We Ain't Left Yet!!
 
STUFF2C's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: O-lando
Oddometer: 2,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimokk View Post
Have you read through the owner's manual yet? Lots of helpful tips in there.
__________________
Thanks to the Interstate Highway System, it is now possible to travel from coast to coast without seeing anything.
-- Charles Kuralt

I never plan a ride, just the destination and that's always subject to change.
STUFF2C is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:56 PM   #6
vtbob
wanderer
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Western Vermont
Oddometer: 523
You battery is bad....you problems will likely go away with the new battery. Just wait for it
vtbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 09:45 PM   #7
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
went to BMW after work..he tested the battery and said it was ok..i changed it anywas seeing as i would eventually have to and sitting around for three years cant be good for it..started up ok but the engine would have still been warm..the battery light still came on with the new battery..the mechanic said something about batteries sitting on shelves and not being fully charged??..i went home let the bike sit for a few hours then cold started it...and the same problem! Could it be a spark plug issue? It starts..but then the it cuts out..to get the engine to stay running i have to pull the throttle a little for about 1 minute before i hear the rpm's pick up.. anyone got any experience with this? I am LOVING this bike and would like to feel a bit more confidence when i go to start it.. Cheers
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:00 PM   #8
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 7,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeinlondon View Post
the battery light still came on with the new battery..
The battery warning ALWAYS comes on after starting the bike. At least it does on my bike. It goes off about 5-15 seconds after start-up. Been that way since new (7 1/2 years). Also, when the temperature is below about 40F the bike may need a bit of throttle to start.

Is that what you are talking about?
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:28 AM   #9
kimokk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
kimokk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: NOVA
Oddometer: 103
If the bike has been sitting for the last three years, the fuel system may be gummed up. Some have suggested flushing out the fuel system by pouring a bottle of techron in the gas tank. Do this a couple of gas tanks worth. This shoud help clean out the fuel lines, injectors and valves.
__________________
'09 BMW R1200GSA Adventure! (gone)
IBA #49426
kimokk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:30 AM   #10
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimokk View Post
If the bike has been sitting for the last three years, the fuel system may be gummed up. Some have suggested flushing out the fuel system by pouring a bottle of techron in the gas tank. Do this a couple of gas tanks worth. This shoud help clean out the fuel lines, injectors and valves.
Thank-you..same issue this morning..held the throttle cocked for a couple of minutes and still wouldn't hold..managed to get the bike rolling but it sounded aweful and no matter how much i gunned it the power wasn't their...got halfway down the road and turned around and managed to get it back..looked the symbol that has come up

..and it says the 'engine is in emergency-operation mode'
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:35 AM   #11
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
also...why is my battery symbol coming up after replacing the battery?

I thought this bike was the best bike in the world..this is very frustrating
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:08 AM   #12
kimokk
Gnarly Adventurer
 
kimokk's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: NOVA
Oddometer: 103
If it's still under warranty, I'd take it to the dealer to have them sort it out, or, get a service manual for your model year bike and start troubleshooting/diagnoing.
__________________
'09 BMW R1200GSA Adventure! (gone)
IBA #49426
kimokk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:39 AM   #13
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
looked at the service manual..for the engine emergency issue..it doesn't say much that is of help..i spoke to Lior..he was REALLY helpful (called me at 8 this morning minutes after pm'ing him) info to update tomorrow
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:03 AM   #14
Ayrshire Bull
why the hell not?
 
Ayrshire Bull's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: The Left Coast, B.C., CA-NA-DA
Oddometer: 2,211
Luke - the tire pressure sense thing - is an option (I think) on the GS - so your bike may not have it.

If your bike does have this option, the info on tire pressures (front and rear) doesn't come up on the display right at start up. The pig needs a bit of time to wake up and get that circuit all up and running. Before it gets up and running, it will look a bit like this: ------- / -------

Hitting the INFO button a few times, will cycle the display round to pressure. It can be displayed in different units - I'm going to guess, that in Old Blighty, you'll want to set it to the PSI units.

good luck -
__________________
"It's not what you look at that matters, it's what you see." - HDT
Ayrshire Bull is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 11:05 AM   #15
lukeinlondon OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
lukeinlondon's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 431
thanks Bull

that --- / --- doesn't even come up :( if only that was my issue..

spoke to my insurance broker they do $500 credit towards a towing company so looks like i can get my bike to Lior
so the plan is to get AAA to take me to the local BMW get them to tell me if i fall under warranty..if i DON'T..then get my insurance company to take me over to Lior..i feel good about this... or better should i say
'
lukeinlondon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014