Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Battle scooters
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-10-2013, 09:13 AM   #1
dbk23 OP
n00b

Oddometer: 4
Am I missing much not getting a motorcycle?

I am new to riding and am trying to figure out what to ride. I have seen the threads about working your way up through the cc's just to go from larger to smaller bikes as you get older. Being 50 I guess my need for speed differs from that of a 20 year old. I never really considered a scooter until I came across some forums dedicated to scooter riding. I want to be able to do long distance touring with my wife and so am looking at the Burgman 650 executive. But then my wife might want her own so would look at the 400 or 300's. Obviously want something that can easily do highway speeds.

I guess am I going to be missing something if I go straight to a scooter and not get a motorcycle? Should I get a motorcycle, experience that then get a scooter if I still want one? Or should I just get one off the bat and not worry about the laughs and looks people on scooters get from the motorcycle crowd. I know there are people who have ridden motorcycles then switched to scooters, or ride both so looking for their advice.

Thanks
Darren
dbk23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:16 AM   #2
doc4216
Chronic High Fiver

Oddometer: 382
Realizing that you're asking this on a motorcycle forum, you should get what best suits your needs and/or wants but if you want my honest opinion, the two are just not the same. Go for the motorcycle. There are more things you can do, greater distances you can go, and just the overall pride in the machine. Just my two cents.
Old 02-10-2013, 09:16 AM   #3
TINGLER
Swamp lips

Oddometer: 143
I enjoy motorcycles and scooters equally.
With getting a larger "maxi-scooter" the only thing you'll be missing is all the shifting. With smaller scooters, you'll be missing performance.