User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-12-2013, 01:45 AM   #1
Bass OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 571
Down South

This is my first attempt at embedding photo links so bear with me please, it might take alittle while to get it right

It’s been several years since I last contributed to these pages - one of them bringing no income at all, saw to that.
It’s good to be back.

The last time I contributed anything was here:-

http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=340074&page=5

and I suspect that this new report may be my final chapter. I very much hope I am wrong and on that basis Jamie (Ducatijim) and I are planning a return to Australia next year. However, my accumulation of years is starting to get in the way - specifically arthritis is threatening my clutch hand. Jamie too, has similar issues and so we are working on making the most of the time we have left.
In my case, learning to manage with minimum clutch use and keeping anti-inflammatories close to hand, is working for now. Jamie has his own methods and so we are not done yet.

Jamie has regularly spent time in the South Island seeking out the interesting bits but I had only ever taken my road bike down there, even though it’s where I was born. Consequently, it is very likely that I have seen more of Australia’s back country than my own. This has always seemed incongruous to me and so when Jamie suggested that we organize 2 weeks down there, I was enthusiastic from the start. So Jamie did his thing with organizing some of the best stuff that he had done and then adding to it some routes he had not done but which appealed to his inclination to nudge the limits a little. He has proved very skilled in the organizing stuff in the past and so it proved again.