User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-12-2013, 03:32 PM   #1
pne OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 600
touring with a superduke - am I crazy?

First off I am of firm belief that you can tour on anything with wheels and a motor. So tell me I'm not completely crazy...

My sabbatical has started and this spring I plan to mosey around Eastern Canada and USA for a few months. This is the first real long distance trip I've taken on a bike so I am a complete newb. Over the years I've taken a few week long trips but never got the luggage and packing aspect figured out. A tank bag and a bungied backpack always sufficed although far from ideal. The last trip was 10 days on a yamaha wr250x. Although we tried to stick to the backroads as much as possible, riding with the bigger bikes I struggled to keep up, passing with a headwind was dicey. I recall heading up a beautiful mountain pass with some sweepers opening up in front of me, thinking "hell yea, time to open it up" and realizing I was already in passing gear and tapped out at 65mph. That was enough to swear me off that ride.

Fast forward to last fall and I was itching for a new bike. I don't know why I ended up with the 07 superduke but it seemed to tick all the right boxes at the time. Exotic, different, v-twin, looks great, and handlebars. Now I've been looking into some luggage solutions and getting a little discouraged. From what I gather there has not been a lot of experimentation or proven setups on this bike. I'm looking for some advice in this regard, I have a ktm tank bag and a medium size tail pack, but not sure what to look for in soft panniers. The good thing is I have CF slipons which should give me a little wiggle room with the mounting, but I don't have any welding skills or desire to fabricate a rack for this thing.