ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2013, 07:36 AM   #1
Leadnuts OP
do-over...
 
Leadnuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KCMO
Oddometer: 116
Anyone used an internal (in-bar) throttle?

Was looking at a friends Honda and noticed the throttle was inside the bar.. It was a pretty clean looking and was wondering if any of you all have any experience with the system?
Leadnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 09:03 AM   #2
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 7,317
These are popular on custom made Harley Davidsons. You might find something in a HD catalog that will work. Never heard of anybody doing it on an Airhead but no reason not too if it can be made to work.
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, privatejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
Leadnuts OP
do-over...
 
Leadnuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KCMO
Oddometer: 116
they sure look clean and crisp.. It looks like most if not all production throttles are for a 1" bar.. looks like I may attempt to make it. Though a spiral slot without a mill might be a bit much.



ALSO, if I have 32mm Bing carbs....Does that mean I need to pull the throttle cable 32mm to open them fully?
Leadnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:54 AM   #4
Airhead Wrangler
Adios Mexico
 
Airhead Wrangler's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Back in Seattle, FINALLY
Oddometer: 6,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leadnuts View Post
ALSO, if I have 32mm Bing carbs....Does that mean I need to pull the throttle cable 32mm to open them fully?
No. The cable isn't lifting the slide. It rotates a butterfly. You're better off measuring your cable pull. I think the stock throttle grip has something like 36 or 37mm of cable take-up. Not sure how much you actually need to fully open a bing, but as always YMMV so measure it. I think 32mm and 40mm bings use the same throttle cam and thus require the same cable pull to fully open.
__________________
R80ST Gets The HPN Treatment
Seattle to TDF on an airhead

Current rides: HPN #834, '93 R100GSPD "red rocket", '73 R75/5 Toaster mongrel, '80 Ducati Pantah 500SL, '92 DR350, '67 Honda SS50, '80 Honda Chaly.
Airhead Wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:24 PM   #5
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 7,317
32mm means the throat size of the intake runner side.
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, privatejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:35 PM   #6
Airhead Wrangler
Adios Mexico
 
Airhead Wrangler's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Back in Seattle, FINALLY
Oddometer: 6,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by disston View Post
32mm means the throat size of the intake runner side.
...and thus on slide carbs is a pretty safe bet for the needed amount of cable pull - you don't need to pull the slide any farther open than the throat diameter. Consider that the slide is always cracked open a bit so it'll idle and you get a safe-ish number. Not so when the cable is turning a butterfly though as in our case with bings.
__________________
R80ST Gets The HPN Treatment
Seattle to TDF on an airhead

Current rides: HPN #834, '93 R100GSPD "red rocket", '73 R75/5 Toaster mongrel, '80 Ducati Pantah 500SL, '92 DR350, '67 Honda SS50, '80 Honda Chaly.
Airhead Wrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 03:52 PM   #7
ericrat
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: South Ohio
Oddometer: 1,044
For a BMW I think I would do the inverted levers with that cable (brake and clutch) internal. It was stock on very early bikes, looks cool and like you said, cleans things up nicely.

Some old discussion here: http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=813633
__________________
"Good God. Are we going to be assaulted with chrome Sanka cans now? " Dranrab Luap
ericrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 01:26 PM   #8
Leadnuts OP
do-over...
 
Leadnuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KCMO
Oddometer: 116
i measure 25mm, does that sound about right?
Leadnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:22 AM   #9
ericrat
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: South Ohio
Oddometer: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leadnuts View Post
i measure 25mm, does that sound about right?
25.4 mm in 1 inch, so that is right for 1 inch bar. Stock BMW bar is 22 mm. Stock Honda bar is 7/8 of an inch.

Does that help?
__________________
"Good God. Are we going to be assaulted with chrome Sanka cans now? " Dranrab Luap
ericrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 03:21 PM   #10
Leadnuts OP
do-over...
 
Leadnuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: KCMO
Oddometer: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericrat View Post
25.4 mm in 1 inch, so that is right for 1 inch bar. Stock BMW bar is 22 mm. Stock Honda bar is 7/8 of an inch.

Does that help?
I was referring to was the amount of pull the cable needed... At least thats what it measured out to be from the butterfly movement on the carb..

I don't currently have any cables so I measured the butterfly arm swing on the carb

My bars will be 7/8" dia. with 1/8" wall..
Leadnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014