ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2013, 08:05 PM   #1
Hamilton.Cooper OP
Adventurer
 
Hamilton.Cooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County
Oddometer: 46
Pissed Steering stabilizer questions

When I bought my drz it had a weird clunk in the front end. I later found out while doing triple maintenance that it was a loose stem nut. After I reassembled the damn thing it worked great! Except for that I had forgotten to put the stabilizer fork through the pin. That is when I saw it





That was why the idiot before me couldnt tighten the nut and it was loose!!

Anyway, I have gotten to the point after almost a year that I want my stabilizer back. How do I go about doing this without buying a new one? Can I just buy the stem piece? I plan on just using some giant ass washers to shim up my handlebars a bit and by proxy the stabilizer from the top tripple. What do you guys think?

Hamilton.Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 09:12 PM   #2
RideFreak
Green Chile Eater
 
RideFreak's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: County Lockup, NM
Oddometer: 5,410
Can you pull the insert out of the post and possibly grind it down some, looks like the post is too tall.
RideFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:24 PM   #3
Baja Dad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Baja Dad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Norco California
Oddometer: 1,842
I sent you a PM
__________________
2014 support: GPR,IMS Aurora Rally Kriega, Raiden LS2,100Goggles,SIDI,Seat Concepts, Rally Raid Products UK,Precision Concepts, MX1West,Dunlop
Baja Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2013, 02:11 PM   #4
Hamilton.Cooper OP
Adventurer
 
Hamilton.Cooper's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County
Oddometer: 46
I thought that too, I don't have the tools for that apparently. Or it doesn't come out. I ended up putting one big ass washer under each of the bar posts and brought it up the required 1-2mm and now it clicks in and works just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RideFreak View Post
Can you pull the insert out of the post and possibly grind it down some, looks like the post is too tall.
Hamilton.Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 07:25 PM   #5
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,751
You may want to go online and read the instructions for that stabilizer,I think they want the top of the pin level with the arm exactly.

The big washer idea is a fine way to raise bars,I did it on my DR. Sometimes you need longer through bolts.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014