Go Back   ADVrider > Gear > The Garage
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-16-2013, 12:29 AM   #1
kevinj OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 153
broke off something - how to get it out?

||| EDIT : PROBLEM SOLVED |||

Hi everyone,

I messed up what should have been a simple maintenance task and am hoping for suggestions on saving the day. Keep in mind you're talking to a newbie here.

I was replacing the secondary spark plugs on my 2006 bmw r1200gs. They're underneath the cylinder heads and it's a bit clumsy to get to them. I must have overtightened one because I broke it off. The photo shows 1/ on the right: the intact old spark plug that I removed, and 2/ on the left: the broken new spark plug. The missing piece is still in the bike and obviously I'll have to get it out somehow.

But how? Is there a tool to do this? Or am I really in trouble?

Thanks very much,

Kevin

kevinj screwed with this post 02-17-2013 at 03:29 AM Reason: marking thread as solved
kevinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 01:24 AM   #2
darkstarmoto
Am I evil? Yes I am

Oddometer: 343
Wow..that's odd. I've never seen a spark plug shaft broken off. If it's current just and open hole with the steel sleeve of the plug shaft you may be able to get a screw extractor of the correct size to try and remove it.

In the case of a broken screw or bolt you would have a solid shaft of metal in a hole. You would then drill a hole of the correct size and insert the extractor which I kind of a reverse threaded screw/bolt. You screw it into the hole and as it drives in it is tapered, so eventually it gets tight. The reverse thread exerts torque in reverse which hopefully turns the original broken shaft out.