User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-17-2013, 10:28 AM   #1
rdcamp OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 96
Newb/interested adv rider

So, my plan is, once I win the lotto or end up getting a job that will make me money to get an adventure tourer bike.

I mountain bike, and love the idea of being able to explore areas on a motorcycle which I currently can't on my R80RT

I have no xcountry/dirtbike experience.

What should my first step be? I'm very biased towards Beemers, albeit short which leaves the big bikes. I like the idea of a bike which I can really do anything with, more interested in touring then going super duper fast.

Would I be better off getting a used 250 or something along the lines of a KLR650 before investing in a F650/800/Tiger

Where I live the only dealerships that sell offroad bikes are Suzu, Kawi, Yamaha and Honda. No Husky or KTM
rdcamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
squawk77
Dreamer

Oddometer: 502
Forget the brand biases...

I would recommend a DRZ 400 to start out. KLR is not a bad idea either but a 250 is probably too small. I love my F800 but is makes no sense to start on one imo. Don't think you cannot enjoy riding just as much if not more on the DRZ or KLR
Old 02-17-2013, 11:11 AM   #3
rdcamp OP
Adventurer

I noticed they all have really high seats....

I'm 5'7'' and am on my tippy toes when I'm on my dads R100RS 33''+?

Do the suspensions on the dirt bikes sink with the weight or a rider?

I'll prob be around 160-180 when and if this occurs.

Perhaps I should go to the thumper thread.

Is the DRZ easy to maintain?

I know nothing about other bikes other then some knowledge of airheads.
Old 02-18-2013, 01:48 PM   #4
vtbob
wanderer

Oddometer: 523
You'd be amazed how many places an R80RT can go!

It has a 19inch front wheel..it's only real limitation is ground clearance. just take it a bit easier.