User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-05-2005, 01:18 AM   #1
MooseKiller OP
Tripod

Oddometer: 4,604
It was a dark and stormy night...

OK, so it was a mildly over-cast and cool mid-afternoon in reality, but I really had no other idea as how to start my first ride report... I figured I would start with a "Snoopy" even though my college creative writing instructor would beat me senseless with a dangling participle, since that is all they are really good for...

I have been riding for about 2 years now after having been interested in motorcycles for the previous 13. School and family life seemed to have taken priority during that time. When I finally came into the market for buying a bike, I had my sights set on a cruiser I decided on about 3 years before I bought it. About a month before I signed on the dotted line, I became aware of the Dark Side... Something it's follower's refered to as "Adventure riding" or "Dual Sport"...

Well, after nearly buying a Yamaha XT225, I went with my original desire and picked up a 650 Silverado. I put a fair amount of miles on it so I could learn how to ride without (hopefully) killing myself. I thoroughly enjoy putting miles on the Beauty as often as I can. But the call of the Dark Side kept whispering to me...

Fast forward nearly a year to this spring. After lurking ADVRider.com for what seemed like an eternity, I was finally preparing to buy my first DS bike. Fighter pointed me in the direction of KeithInAlaska for a used KLR 650, but Uncle Sam decided he wanted a few more duckets from our intrepid hero (uh, that's me...), so the KLR ended up not becoming mine. A few months passed and some creative refinancing ensued in an effort to make a BMW 1200 GS become a reality spring of 2006.