User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-19-2013, 03:59 PM   #1
ironjack63 OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 66
Tubes or tubeless

Okay, as I have said earlier, I am new to the airhead world just acquiring an '81 R100RT. I bought new Metzlers at Motorcycle Superstore and took them to be installed by a fellow Patriot Guard member that has a motorcycle shop. He called me and asked if I knew that the old wheels and tires had tubes installed. I told him no, and that I thought the wheels were set up for tubeless tires, but I deferred to what he found when he removed the old tires. I thought the so called "snowflake" wheels were tubeless rims. Anyone with more knowledge than me care to comment? I went ahead and had him put tubes back in with the new tires. This old girl keeps throwing me curves as I restore her.
ironjack63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:25 PM   #2
Twin headlight Ernie
bar napkin engineering

Oddometer: 1,387
Tires

I've always been under the impression that BMW didn't go tubeless till about 1984. I have tubes in my 78 /7. 2HE

My Smugmug:
http://twinheadlighternie.smugmug.com/

Dakota Motorsports
Twin headlight Ernie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:28 PM   #3
kaput13
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 432
Welcome. Your snowflakes require tubes but some have modified their older wheels to go tubeless. Stay with tubes.
kaput13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:44 PM   #4
ME 109
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,155
81 require tubes as there is no safety bead on a snowflake,.
Whether or not you use tubes, is up to you.

I couldn't make my mind up so I have a tubeless rear, and a tubed front

There is no winner in this argument, it would appear.
Old 02-19-2013, 04:47 PM   #5
supershaft
because I can

Oddometer: 8,421