ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Northeast - Greater Flugistan and home of the carpet baggers.
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-23-2013, 12:45 PM   #1
Jazz62 OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 992
Advice on likely relocation to NYC

My wife and I are trying to make the big move. I'm a jazz musician, been slugging it out in Chicago for just over 20 years now. There's great potential to turn this into a long and fucked up story about how bad the scene here has become. Many of the most gifted cats sitting home while the shameless self-promoting types get all the high profile work. Almost all the old masters who dictated the vibe in town have passed away, the last 5 years in particular have been just terrible.

My wife is a public school teacher and this entire move hinges on her landing a gig. Because she is a science teacher and she is multilingual (English, Urdu, Hindi, Punjabi and Spanish) I think her odds are pretty good. Where we live will largely be dependent on where she'll be working. If she lands a job anywhere from mid-town south we'll look for a place in Brooklyn - anywhere north of that and most likely we'll have to look in Harlem, Washington Heights etc.

Keeping this brief = huge FAIL. A lot running through my gristmill right now.

We'll be selling both of our cars but it will totally break my heart to have to sell my 1150GS. Bikes have been my only luxury in life and as I'm sure many of you can appreciate, my sanity saver as well. I have a lot of contacts in NYC but none of the pussies ride. I'm trying to get an advanced read on whether it makes any sense to keep my bike, especially since barring some miracle, I'll have to keep it on the street. Will it be a vandalized worthless hunk of crap in no time? Some people have told me that if we wind up living in Brooklyn we may want to keep one car as parking is not impossible.