ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > Airheads
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2013, 03:12 AM   #1
ME 109 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
ME 109's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Albury Australia
Oddometer: 2,016
5 speed shift mechanism

Is this shift mechanism correct for a 9/81 build?

The last two neutral switches put in the tranny don't work.
They are 'push in to make contact' type switches.
A loaner tranny that was recently in my bike operated the neutral light as it should.
I don't give two hoots for a green light, but as I was in the tranny repairing things I thought it a good opportunity to fix the neutral light.
My tranny was last worked on about 13 years ago for bearings and a 2nd hand 5th gear. I don't recall the shift mech being changed.....

Thanks in advance for your help gents.


__________________
Lord of the Bings
ME 109 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 03:27 AM   #2
spo123
Man About Town
 
spo123's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: North Shore Mass. USA
Oddometer: 659
Cool2

To my, albeit inexperienced eye....I would say that you have the "improved, later design" shift mechanism. This photo seems to show the DEEPER, MORE DISTINCT shift detents.....ie: the little "valleys" where the shift roller rides.
It is said that this will improve occasional missed shifts and false neutrals.\

Hope that helps.
spo
__________________
spo
1973 /5 LWB Toaster
spo123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:00 AM   #3
ME 109 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
ME 109's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Albury Australia
Oddometer: 2,016
Thanks spo, here's another pic.
I'm wondering if my shifter was changed 13 years ago for some reason.
I haven't had a working neutral light for eons.
As far as shifting is concerned, my tranny has always been very good.

__________________
Lord of the Bings
ME 109 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 04:52 AM   #4
bikerfish
flyfishandride
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: western pa
Oddometer: 1,429
if you don't want the green light, just plug the hole with a proper sized bold and crush washer. saves from fixing the inevitable leak!
bikerfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:14 AM   #5
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 8,403
The improved shift kit starts in mid '82. I can usually recognize it but your pictures have disappeared. It is deeper valleys on the shift cam, the peaks are more pointy.

There are two neutral switches but this is was way before the change in shift mechanisms. To get the story on that go to Anton's pages and read;

http://www.largiader.com/
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, piratejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 07:51 AM   #6
Max Headroom
lost in the '70s
 
Max Headroom's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: New Zealand
Oddometer: 504
Jeff, the above photos are of the earlier shift mechanism.
__________________
'76 R90S silver smoke
'75 R90/6 hybrid

"Don't worry, it's not loaded."
last words of Chicago's Terry Kath before shooting himself in 1978
Max Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:09 AM   #7
ME 109 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
ME 109's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Albury Australia
Oddometer: 2,016
Thanks disston, from what I can see on Anton's site, I have the older style shift mechanism with wider peaks.
Anton's site also says that the change to upgraded shift mechanism was mid '81.........so I should have it.
Puzzling, is that apparently from '76, the neutral switches extended to make contact. I'm sure my switch gets pushed in by the dohickey.

But then it would make sense for the neutral light to come on in gear, if I have the wrong switch/dohickey in there.

So, it's 2:30 am here and I can't sleep. Up to the shed I went and confirmed a suspicion that popped into my head. One wire was off the neutral switch.
I re-connected the wire and sure enough, the neutral light comes on........in gear.

The neutral switch (and the previously bought one) is correct for my bike. They are actually 'pop out' to make contact. Not the other way as I said in my first post.

The neutral switch activating plate is incorrect.
Parts were obviously changed in my tranny 13 years ago.
I recall having a pawl spring break back then so maybe the guy who fixed it found other things wrong and swapped the whole shift mechanism out.

If that is the case, I can only say that he did a very good job because I've flogged the pants off that tranny ever since, and have only just overhauled it weeks ago.
__________________
Lord of the Bings
ME 109 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:10 AM   #8
ed mocz
Bristol WI
 
ed mocz's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Oddometer: 196
Ditto, earlier. I've got a 78 and probably have the old style, cause I get false neutrals. Plan on going through it soon, I just need the shift cam. I've got the newer style pawl and small shift cam, but not one in question.

Also, wouldn't hurt to upgrade the shift pawl. If the one spring breaks, you'll be stuck in whatever gear you are in. With the newer one you can still manually shift.
__________________
1978 BMW R100/7 A holy union/cheap bike challenge combo.

ed mocz screwed with this post 02-24-2013 at 08:14 AM Reason: added info
ed mocz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:19 AM   #9
ME 109 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
ME 109's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Albury Australia
Oddometer: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Headroom View Post
Jeff, the above photos are of the earlier shift mechanism.
Gidday Nick, I didn't see your post.

True that, old mechanism.

Also add....a pre '76 neutral switch activating plate.

I guess the hunt is on now for the correct components so I can fix it. One day.

PS. I've been looking after that beaut crank you sent me by exceeding 8 grand every so often.
__________________
Lord of the Bings
ME 109 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:27 AM   #10
ME 109 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
ME 109's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Albury Australia
Oddometer: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed mocz View Post
Also, wouldn't hurt to upgrade the shift pawl. If the one spring breaks, you'll be stuck in whatever gear you are in. With the newer one you can still manually shift.
The mystery continues. If indeed I should have the later mechanism in my bike, why did I get a broken pawl spring that left me stuck in fourth, 13 years ago, which led to me taking the tranny to the guy to be fixed.

Well, at least now I know where things are at.
__________________
Lord of the Bings
ME 109 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:31 AM   #11
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 8,403
I'm glad you're making progress but how come I'm the only one who can't see the pictures?
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, piratejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:36 AM   #12
ME 109 OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
ME 109's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Albury Australia
Oddometer: 2,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by disston View Post
I'm glad you're making progress but how come I'm the only one who can't see the pictures?
That's what I was wondering. I see 'em. They're on photobucket, maybe that is the issue?
__________________
Lord of the Bings
ME 109 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 08:55 AM   #13
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 8,403
OK, I see the pics now. Apparently the problem was in my computer. I fixed it. But don't ask me how.
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, piratejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:29 AM   #14
100RT
Studly Adventurer
 
100RT's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: N. E. OHIO
Oddometer: 567
Max is right that is the original shift cam. years ago I upgraded that plate in my 81 R100RT. Here are all the upgrade pieces. Look at the steep ramps on the shift plate and compare them to what you have.
100RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 09:37 AM   #15
disston
ShadeTreeExpert
 
disston's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Silver Spring, Md
Oddometer: 8,403
As far as I know if you want the updated shift kit you have to buy it from Motobins because anybody in the USA will charge you over $600. But ME is in Australia so that's no problem, right? But I think he doesn't care which shift kit he has, he just wants the green neutral light to work.

If you have the correct switch for the shift kit you have then the problem may be that the switch needs to be shimmed to work. I've never had this problem but have heard others say this was the solution for their later style switches.
__________________
.
Never memorize something you can look up.
---Albert Einstein

Pay your debt, piratejohn.http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=949341
disston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014