User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-25-2013, 10:30 AM   #1
Halky OP
Σερ

Oddometer: 60
Thumb Help with new bike

Hey there, I've been lurking around here for months and I decided to pick your brains a bit. I'm getting my licence soon, I already know how to ride and have been riding for some time with a couple of different bikes but I don't really consider myself an experienced rider. I haven't ridden for years now so for all intents and purposes lets just say I'm a noob.

So, I'm looking for a bike that'll work as a commuter but one that will be able to handle A LOT of two up riding both in the city as well as in long travels/touring. Considering this will be my only means of transportation I would prefer something reliable. Budget is an issue since I can't afford to spend much. 2000eur. will be pushing it, since the rest of the budget will be spent on serious gear both for me and my fiancee. Also, mpg is also an issue, along with safety, considering my daily commute will be about 45-50 miles to and from work.

Now, the main bike I'm considering within my budget is an early 90's transalp 600. Seems steady enough, I can handle the weight and height and it's not really scary fast (pretty tame, actually), quite an evenly rounded motorcycle. I'm also looking at some 1999-2003/4 aprilia pegasos but the thumper thing isn't really ideal for long travels/commutes, plus the air protection left me wanting more after 60-70mph. Which is probably its safest riding limit. Same goes for the 650 beemers. I'd really prefer a v-strom 650 to be honest but they go way over my budget. I considered a caponord 1000 or an earlier v-strom 1000 that I can find within my budget but I dismissed those quickly since I don't think a liter bike is a wise choice with my experience (or lack thereof). Let me also say that speed and acceleration doesn't really concern me, I just feel I need the power for the two up and the highways.