ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
jmklint OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: kansas City
Oddometer: 33
Installed Rox 1 3/4 risers, cables too tight. help

I got my new 2012 R adventure yesterday and started adding all my accessories. The Rox 1 3/4 risers make my cables incredibly tight so I had to go back to the stock set-up. From reading earlier post, most people said there was plenty of give to add the 1 3/4" risers. Any ideas? Thanks.
jmklint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 07:52 PM   #2
DuctTape
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 351
You have two choices.

You can undo the the throttle cables and rotate the housing so the cables are under the bars. Picture here http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...74&postcount=2

or you can do like I just did and actually reroute the cables from the left hand side of the frame over to the right hand side by just removing the black door you see up front on the frame.



I like the reroute myself.
__________________
2013 KTM 690 (Thanks FLHRCI Buyer! )
2011 990 Adventure Dakar (Thank you Honey!)
2010 Aprilia RSV4 Factory
2010 Ducati 1198S

DuctTape screwed with this post 03-02-2013 at 08:00 PM
DuctTape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:00 PM   #3
Maoule
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Maoule's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: KCMO
Oddometer: 326
I added some Renthal RC highbars as well as 2" Rox extenders; I had to do both the right side relocation and the throttle cable down turn.
Maoule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:25 PM   #4
Weldit
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Weldit's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Muskoka Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 332
the above mentioned is great for throttle But my problem was the ABS bikes have
a line that goes to module under seat and then comes back front to go to the calipers

there was only enough slack in the hose to the bars for 1.5" on my bike
you could force it to 2" but that would be to tight for me

this is after switching the hoses in the clips on the frame so the line to bars is on top
stock the line to caliper was on top

if you don't have abs - no problem

some reading:
1Riser height, what's the max - ADVrider
2How are your risers working out? Need more cable? - ADVrider
3Dirtinblood Riser Install - ADVrider
__________________
'11 Dakar 990
Weldit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:29 PM   #5
DuctTape
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weldit View Post
the above mentioned is great for throttle But my problem was the ABS bikes have
a line that goes to module under seat and then comes back front to go to the calipers

there was only enough slack in the hose to the bars for 1.5" on my bike
you could force it to 2" but that would be to tight for me

this is after switching the hoses in the clips on the frame so the line to bars is on top
stock the line to caliper was on top

if you don't have abs - no problem

some reading:
1Riser height, what's the max - ADVrider
2How are your risers working out? Need more cable? - ADVrider
3Dirtinblood Riser Install - ADVrider

I have ABS and not a problem? I guess it could be the Flexx bars I'm using?
__________________
2013 KTM 690 (Thanks FLHRCI Buyer! )
2011 990 Adventure Dakar (Thank you Honey!)
2010 Aprilia RSV4 Factory
2010 Ducati 1198S

DuctTape screwed with this post 03-02-2013 at 09:42 PM
DuctTape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:22 PM   #6
jmklint OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: kansas City
Oddometer: 33
good info

thanks for the input, I will tear into it this weekend


Quote:
Originally Posted by DuctTape View Post
You have two choices.

You can undo the the throttle cables and rotate the housing so the cables are under the bars. Picture here http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...74&postcount=2

or you can do like I just did and actually reroute the cables from the left hand side of the frame over to the right hand side by just removing the black door you see up front on the frame.



I like the reroute myself.
jmklint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:26 PM   #7
jmklint OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2008
Location: kansas City
Oddometer: 33
thanks for the input

I have the adventure R so no ABS but I'm gonna flip the throttle cables


Quote:
Originally Posted by DuctTape View Post
I have ABS and not a problem? I guess it could be the Flexx bars I'm using?
jmklint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:14 PM   #8
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuctTape View Post
I have ABS and not a problem? I guess it could be the Flexx bars I'm using?
I also have an 11 with ABS, stock bars and 2 Rox risers. The abs lines were not an issue, and they have plenty of slack. I did have to rotate the throttle 180 though.
srad600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 10:51 PM   #9
chrish4ku
Studly Adventurer
 
chrish4ku's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: San Leandro, CA
Oddometer: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by srad600 View Post
I also have an 11 with ABS, stock bars and 2 Rox risers. The abs lines were not an issue, and they have plenty of slack. I did have to rotate the throttle 180 though.

+1 on ABS shouldn't be a problem. For me it was just the throttle flip and took less than 10 mins. Seems to be plenty of play.
__________________
_______________________
Chris
I don't normally ride on the street,,,but when I do,,I prefer lane splitting.
2011 KTM 990 Adventure / KTM 500 EXC
Chris' Sat Tracker
chrish4ku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 05:36 PM   #10
Weldit
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Weldit's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Muskoka Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 332
I guess my brake lines are shorter than everyone else ?
or my definition of "plenty of slack" is different
what ever works for you ?
-------------------------------------
even at 1.5" riser on BRP top clamp and stock bars the brake line is tight

YMMV
__________________
'11 Dakar 990
Weldit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:23 AM   #11
DuctTape
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Kansas
Oddometer: 351
Well the brake master/lever and bars can be rotated so maybe that's the problem. Where you want them is different then the rest of us?
__________________
2013 KTM 690 (Thanks FLHRCI Buyer! )
2011 990 Adventure Dakar (Thank you Honey!)
2010 Aprilia RSV4 Factory
2010 Ducati 1198S
DuctTape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 02:04 PM   #12
Weldit
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Weldit's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Location: Muskoka Ontario Canada
Oddometer: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuctTape View Post
Well the brake master/lever and bars can be rotated so maybe that's the problem. Where you want them is different then the rest of us?
Don't think that's it - any other idea ?
--------------------------------------------------
as I am 6'8" and have a long reach my bars are forward and the brake lever is
rotated down to help with the length of brake line - which is ok for standing but
actually a bit to far down for sitting.
-----------------------------------------------------
I am just trying to help others to check for slack when adding risers as not all bikes
seem to be the same.
---- and check with the bars at full lock both left and right ----
mine comes snug when the bars are full right turned.
__________________
'11 Dakar 990
Weldit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 05:09 PM   #13
srad600
Studly Adventurer
 
srad600's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Oakland, Kalli Fornia
Oddometer: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weldit View Post
Don't think that's it - any other idea ?
Is your suspension stock height? Are the lines routed correctly?
srad600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:49 PM   #14
Masa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Masa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: F1nland
Oddometer: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weldit View Post
I guess my brake lines are shorter than everyone else ?
I have a '11 ABS and 2" Rally Risers. The brake line is indeed a bit on the short side. I too switched lines in the clips to get more slack. It's still not as loose as I would like it to be, but I chose to live with it. Some have re-routed the line inside frame or bought longer hose.
Masa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 07:04 AM   #15
SauceSquatch
Gnarly Adventurer
 
SauceSquatch's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 245
I installed a set of the ROX 1 3/4" risers without a problem on my ABS, you have to flip the throttle on the handle bar but also follow the wires down to the right side of the frame. For the brake, I had no problem but did have to snip a couple zip ties, move around and then re-zip tie.
__________________
2010 KTM 990 Adventure
2006 DRZ
1978 Harley FX cut down
SauceSquatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014