User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-08-2013, 02:41 PM   #1
VargasD OP
Novato

Oddometer: 21
Skills required to do mods, builds, and other wild stuff

Saludos. One of the forum sections that I love to browse are the ones involving bike builds and modifications. If I'm not careful, I could spend hours following different threads.

I've decided that I long to do such projects... but there is just one small problem: I have no skills for this .

For me it's not a dead end. Actually, I'm thinking about enrolling in a trade school in a a motorcycle mechanics program. It will be hard to juggle my full time job as a journalist, my family and this new idea but I think I can manage.

What other skills would you guys consider important to have? Welding, body shop skills?

Gracias
VargasD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:12 PM   #2
Unstable Rider
Sick Till Tuesday

Oddometer: 2,476
Welcome brother.

What kind of bikes do you see down there, or own, or get exposed to?

If you get a second hand KLR650, you will get exposed to all kinds of learning. Electrical, bodywork, customizing, chopping, modding, fabricating, making panniers from stuff another guy threw away, and of course swapping out the doo hickey and eventually going "705" on the bore if you like. It's also a great foundation or platform to "build" from.... consider the price of parts, you can get a brand new factory clutch lever in the U.S. for less than six dollars direct from Kawi.

Nothing beats practical exposure (experience) of some kind. Books and lectures never worked for me, I got to see it and try it for it to sink in. I think school of that sort, in all seriousness, would be more fun if you had a beater second hand bike you could constantly make better like the KLR. With some pointed sticks and a rock, you can instantly fab up useful KLR parts with not much talent. They like that!

~Butch Cassidy