ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 05:05 PM   #3931
Somewhere Far Beyond
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Somewhere Far Beyond's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: The Great Northwet
Oddometer: 153
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by meat popsicle View Post
Better setup thread:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=79898

Idle may want to be higher than 1500 according to Creeper.

Not sure if Stenhouse Racing still has the replacement idle mixture screws that are finger adjustable, but if so they are useful.
Thanks to both of you. I've been reading Creeper's setup thread and it has been quite enlightening.
I've got an order in to Stenhouse Racing for one via the website. According to that there were a few left. Seems like a worthy investment to me.

I'm excited to get this baby dialed in. Just reeaaally want it to not vibrate all over the shop when I have it fully choked. Craziest thing to watch.
__________________
2003 KTM 640 Adventure
2004 KTM 950 Adventure
And I don't fear that dusty godforsaken path
Somewhere far beyond...
Somewhere Far Beyond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 08:53 PM   #3932
bmwktmbill
Traveler
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Traveler
Oddometer: 4,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by meat popsicle View Post
Better setup thread:
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=79898

Idle may want to be higher than 1500 according to Creeper.

Not sure if Stenhouse Racing still has the replacement idle mixture screws that are finger adjustable, but if so they are useful.
Thanks Meat,
and yes, idle mixscrew is beyond useful, absolutely a necessity in my mind.
b
__________________
'02 KTM 640 Adventure-lowered
"On the road there are no special cases."
Cormack McCarthy-The Crossing

The faster it goes the faster it breaks.
And high performance=high maintenance.
Bill Shockley

bmwktmbill screwed with this post 05-30-2013 at 11:12 PM
bmwktmbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 02:17 PM   #3933
Somewhere Far Beyond
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Somewhere Far Beyond's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: The Great Northwet
Oddometer: 153
Electrical

So I can't slack up my choke cable cause that sucker's already slacked to the max. I've got a BST Idle screw on order from Stenhouse so I'm moving onto other stuff on the bike. Specifically, I'd like to wire in a manual override switch for the cooling fan so I can turn it on at will. I'm not going to add a second cooling fan most likely. Anybody know why exactly there is a capacitor on the bike? To protect the ignition system and CDI from spikes?
__________________
2003 KTM 640 Adventure
2004 KTM 950 Adventure
And I don't fear that dusty godforsaken path
Somewhere far beyond...
Somewhere Far Beyond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:30 PM   #3934
dnrobertson
Big Bike, Slow Rider
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Frankston, Australia
Oddometer: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Somewhere Far Beyond View Post
.... Anybody know why exactly there is a capacitor on the bike? To protect the ignition system and CDI from spikes?
The answer may be here:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...&postcount=188
__________________
David

2005 KTM 640A
2008 Wee-Strom
dnrobertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 10:40 PM   #3935
meat popsicle OP
Ignostic
 
meat popsicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Circumlocution Office of Little Dorrit
Oddometer: 14,177
Nice find dnrobertson!

Somewhere far beyond, you can get a different thermoswitch so the fan turns on at a lower temperature. I bet that's indexed. Second fan was popular and fairly easy too (as long as your rear subframe is aligned).
__________________
Kronreif Trunkenpolz Mattighofen LC4 640

Its not so much staying alive; its staying human that counts.
meat popsicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:19 PM   #3936
bmwktmbill
Traveler
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Traveler
Oddometer: 4,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by meat popsicle View Post
Nice find dnrobertson!

Somewhere far beyond, you can get a different thermoswitch so the fan turns on at a lower temperature. I bet that's indexed. Second fan was popular and fairly easy too (as long as your rear subframe is aligned).
I believe the '02 and earlier Adventure bikes had the lower temp switch,
pn. 580 35 045 000, 80-85 GRAD '94.
bill
__________________
'02 KTM 640 Adventure-lowered
"On the road there are no special cases."
Cormack McCarthy-The Crossing

The faster it goes the faster it breaks.
And high performance=high maintenance.
Bill Shockley
bmwktmbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 05:48 AM   #3937
tdreyer
KTiM
 
tdreyer's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Used to live in Crestview FL, now ????
Oddometer: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwktmbill View Post
I believe the '02 and earlier Adventure bikes had the lower temp switch,
pn. 580 35 045 000, 80-85 GRAD '94.
bill
I have never found where someone confirmed the lower temp fan thermo switch from the earlier models fit the later models. I have looked @ the right radiator p/n' s and they are different from my '04 SXC.

Can anyone confirm the older fan thermo switch is a direct replacement for the one in my SXC?
__________________
~Tim

"04625 SXC
'04 625 SMC 76,xxx mi.
'97 CR500 Sold
tdreyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 06:06 AM   #3938
mgorman
Crashing since 1964
 
mgorman's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Massillon, Ohio
Oddometer: 5,114
I put on radiators from another model RFS when I lost a jousting match with a dead tree, I thought from an RXC but not sure, I do know the temp switch for the fan did not fit. I had to redo the plug so it could adapt to my 03 640 Adv

Cat remember off hand but one was like a 15mm thread and the other a 17mm
__________________
Michael

AES Racing - Crow Canyon Riding Park
mgorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 07:46 AM   #3939
wvrocks
Studly Adventurer
 
wvrocks's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Elkins, WV
Oddometer: 598
I've searched the Index but can't seem to find an answer. Is it normal for the tach needle to bounce a lot on a 640 Adv? Everything else vibrates so I wouldn't suprise me. Seems to be worst in 3-4 gear around 4k rpm. Swings about 500 rpm either way.
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
wvrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 05:44 PM   #3940
Uncle Crumpet
Studly Adventurer
 
Uncle Crumpet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Eidsvold, QLD
Oddometer: 573
Indicator removal

whats the secret to removing the 640 ADV rear indicators? Am trying to replace mine as their stuffed, undo nut and then what? it seems the stem is either press fit or moulded into the tail piece and doesn't want to budge on either side, I know it will be simple, but it has me stuffed at present, thanks for your help!
__________________
its like trying to plait your shit!
Uncle Crumpet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 08:05 PM   #3941
mtbdemon
Studly Adventurer
 
mtbdemon's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Beaverton Oregon
Oddometer: 960
Gear oil

So I have a bit of a silly question. I bought some"gear oil" at the local shop. It is motorex gear oil 10w/30 synthetic. The back of the bottle says "synthetic manual gearbox oil for motorcycles with seperate engine and gearbox lubrication"
I have to think that this would NOT work in my 620 engine, but could I not use it in my 200 two stroke engine? Thanks

Ken
__________________
I am a leaf on the wind, watch me.....ride (I know, it makes no sense)
2007 YZ 250F SOLD
1998 KTM 620 Adventure
2004 KTM 200 EXC

mtbdemon screwed with this post 05-31-2013 at 08:39 PM
mtbdemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:37 PM   #3942
bmwktmbill
Traveler
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Traveler
Oddometer: 4,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvrocks View Post
I've searched the Index but can't seem to find an answer. Is it normal for the tach needle to bounce a lot on a 640 Adv? Everything else vibrates so I wouldn't suprise me. Seems to be worst in 3-4 gear around 4k rpm. Swings about 500 rpm either way.
WV,
Had that problem!!
When the tach bounces, crazy as it sounds, your ignition switch, or the connection, is failing.
IMHO.

We can thank Gunnerbuck for that, maybe he will comment.

When I cleaned my ignition switch internally the bouncing stopped.

Follow the tach ground wire on your wiring diagram.

BTW the bouncing drove me crazy.
(Working on your pdf.)

bill
__________________
'02 KTM 640 Adventure-lowered
"On the road there are no special cases."
Cormack McCarthy-The Crossing

The faster it goes the faster it breaks.
And high performance=high maintenance.
Bill Shockley
bmwktmbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 10:42 PM   #3943
Somewhere Far Beyond
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Somewhere Far Beyond's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: The Great Northwet
Oddometer: 153
You guys are great. Very helpful, thanks!

As for changing the thermoswitch, I don't think it's a capatible swap. At least without some modifications to make that switch fit. Possible though that a complete right side radiator from an earlier LC4 might be a direct fit to 03 and later bikes, which would save modding the original radiator to make a new switch fit.
__________________
2003 KTM 640 Adventure
2004 KTM 950 Adventure
And I don't fear that dusty godforsaken path
Somewhere far beyond...
Somewhere Far Beyond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 02:30 AM   #3944
The Misinformant
What road?
 
The Misinformant's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Oddometer: 349
You can fit the older cooler operating thermofan switch to the newer Bikes. You just need to find the right kind of plumbing fitting to make the smaller diameter early model switch fit into the larger hole on the later models radiator.
__________________
BMW 450X (Rallye Project).
Bandit 1200.
KTM 640 ADV.

RF900R - Gone.
TTR250 - Gone.
CB500 - Gone.
TS185 - Gone and sorely missed.
Z50 - Gone.
The Misinformant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:24 AM   #3945
fastdadio
Still gettin faster
 
fastdadio's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: Pinckney Mi.
Oddometer: 1,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbdemon View Post
So I have a bit of a silly question. I bought some"gear oil" at the local shop. It is motorex gear oil 10w/30 synthetic. The back of the bottle says "synthetic manual gearbox oil for motorcycles with seperate engine and gearbox lubrication"
I have to think that this would NOT work in my 620 engine, but could I not use it in my 200 two stroke engine? Thanks

Ken
You are correct. Transmission only. Perfect for your 2t. Do not put it your engine crank case.
fastdadio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014