ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2013, 08:47 PM   #4171
bmwktmbill
Traveler
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Traveler
Oddometer: 4,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolphins13 View Post
So my bike has no spark? I replaced plug, and the wire looks good. Ignition coil next? Is it common for these to quit working? I never had 1 go bad before.
Dolf,
I'd start a separate thread saying what you have tried and a little history.
Is the ground tight?
bill
__________________
'02 KTM 640 Adventure-lowered
"On the road there are no special cases."
Cormack McCarthy-The Crossing

The faster it goes the faster it breaks.
And high performance=high maintenance.
Bill Shockley
bmwktmbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 08:49 PM   #4172
Gerst
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Gerst's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Durango, CO
Oddometer: 243
Thanks for all the tips for removing the swingarm bolt. I got it out Saturday. It took a fairly hard whack with the 3lb hammer and brass drift to move it. I had to drive it the whole way out. It was the right side Bushing Sleeve. I'm not sure what happened but there was some corrosion on the sleeve and minor pitting on the bolt. Black, not rust colored and everything else was in good shape. I replaced everything except the bolt cause I had the parts on the shelf. Anyway she's ready to ride!

Thanks,
Gerst
Gerst is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 05:16 PM   #4173
cjm1219
Gnarly Adventurer
 
cjm1219's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Medford Oregon
Oddometer: 107
Can my bike use a clutch cable from a different model or make of bike?

I need to try to find a local source for a clutch cable for my 2000 enduro as I just noticed the casing is splitting on the clutch end. I have a weekend full of riding planned and would like to get this swapped out before.

Anyone know of a different cable that will work?

No local KTM dealer in town but all the other manufactures. Hell I even have an Aprillia dealer withing walking distance of my house.

I have tried some searching but in kind of a time crunch. Anyone know?

Thanks!
__________________
2000 KTM 640 LC4e
1998 Triumph T509 Speed Triple
cjm1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 06:52 PM   #4174
WVhillbilly
Beastly Adventurer
 
WVhillbilly's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Oddometer: 8,395
http://www.ktmworld.com/

http://www.munnracing.com/

Call tomorrow, eat overnight shipping.
I wouldn't think anything else would fit it well enough to be reliable.

I keep a spare cable zip tied to my cable.
Easy fix then if it breaks.
WVhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:31 PM   #4175
wvrocks
Studly Adventurer
 
wvrocks's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Elkins, WV
Oddometer: 584
KTM LC4 (640) Thread Index

Motion Pro makes a cable that fits my 2000 640 Adv. Should fit yours too. It's heavier all the way around.

Get 2 and run them parallel for a backup

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
wvrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:34 PM   #4176
Queen of Spades
tall drink of water
 
Queen of Spades's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, GA
Oddometer: 769
Are the Adventure cables (clutch & throttle) the same length as the Enduro, or longer/shorter? I have bar risers and would like to get a taller bar.. I'm restricted by the cable length right now.
__________________
'99 KTM 640 LC4 Enduro http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fifXkDQpda4 (January 2014 snow ride)
Queen of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:36 PM   #4177
wvrocks
Studly Adventurer
 
wvrocks's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Elkins, WV
Oddometer: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Queen of Spades View Post
Are the Adventure cables (clutch & throttle) the same length as the Enduro, or longer/shorter? I have bar risers and would like to get a taller bar.. I'm restricted by the cable length right now.
The motion pro seems longer than the stock one that was on my bike. You could check stock length on the parts fiche at ktmworld.com



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
wvrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:38 PM   #4178
WVhillbilly
Beastly Adventurer
 
WVhillbilly's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Oddometer: 8,395
Clutch cable at least is the same.
1115 mm.
Figure the throttle is too.
KTM World has microfiche, I get part numbers there quicker than looking in my book
WVhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:44 PM   #4179
Queen of Spades
tall drink of water
 
Queen of Spades's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, GA
Oddometer: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVhillbilly View Post
Clutch cable at least is the same.
1115 mm.
Figure the throttle is too.
KTM World has microfiche, I get part numbers there quicker than looking in my book
ADV and E model are both 1115mm according to the fiche.

I ran across a site that sold cable components separately (to build custom length cables), but I forgot to bookmark it.
__________________
'99 KTM 640 LC4 Enduro http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fifXkDQpda4 (January 2014 snow ride)
Queen of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:15 AM   #4180
wvrocks
Studly Adventurer
 
wvrocks's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Elkins, WV
Oddometer: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Queen of Spades View Post
ADV and E model are both 1115mm according to the fiche.

I ran across a site that sold cable components separately (to build custom length cables), but I forgot to bookmark it.
Motion Pro says part #10-0082 is the same length as factory. It fits my bike with 3" rox risers and higher bars just fine. It seems like it still has some extra length over the factory one. It does have an inline adjuster built in so you have some extra adjustment room. I made my initial adjustments mostly in the housing instead of with the lever adjuster since its kind of floppy to begin with.

Speaking of that, if you haven't done this mod yet, check it out.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=529980
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
wvrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:32 AM   #4181
cjm1219
Gnarly Adventurer
 
cjm1219's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Medford Oregon
Oddometer: 107
I was hoping someone knew if, say a cable from a yamaha blah blah blah or something would work on my bike.

I will call around today to see if I can find something local.

Thanks for any info.
__________________
2000 KTM 640 LC4e
1998 Triumph T509 Speed Triple
cjm1219 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:03 AM   #4182
Kawidad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Kawidad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Central Coast, Cal
Oddometer: 4,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Queen of Spades View Post
Are the Adventure cables (clutch & throttle) the same length as the Enduro, or longer/shorter? I have bar risers and would like to get a taller bar.. I'm restricted by the cable length right now.
The "E" model throttle cables are not the same as the Adventure. The E uses a different switch gear housing and specific to that model. AFAIK, there are no aftermarket throttle cables made for the E if you have that weird housing. However, I have to put in a caveat and that is the E model uses several different housings during it's run and some did use the Adv housing, so you might have gotten lucky, I didn't.
__________________
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? - Juvenal
(Who watches the watchers)
Kawidad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 07:17 AM   #4183
Queen of Spades
tall drink of water
 
Queen of Spades's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, GA
Oddometer: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawidad View Post
the E model uses several different housings during it's run and some did use the Adv housing, so you might have gotten lucky, I didn't.
What model did you have? I replaced the clutch cable a couple years ago and got by with a good cleaning and lube of the existing throttle cables.

I'm thinking that having some cable assembly supplies (sheathing, wire rope, crimps, balls, ect) may be the only solution for longer cables. From what I'm reading it's not a simple "plug & play" process.

Resouces:
http://www.flanderscables.com/
http://www.venhillusa.com/Universal-Cable-Kits-c742/
http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/arc...p/t-37622.html
http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthread.php?t=83
http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthrea...=1026#post1026
__________________
'99 KTM 640 LC4 Enduro http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fifXkDQpda4 (January 2014 snow ride)
Queen of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 06:05 PM   #4184
Kawidad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Kawidad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Central Coast, Cal
Oddometer: 4,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Queen of Spades View Post
What model did you have? I replaced the clutch cable a couple years ago and got by with a good cleaning and lube of the existing throttle cables.

I'm thinking that having some cable assembly supplies (sheathing, wire rope, crimps, balls, ect) may be the only solution for longer cables. From what I'm reading it's not a simple "plug & play" process.

Resouces:
http://www.flanderscables.com/
http://www.venhillusa.com/Universal-Cable-Kits-c742/
http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/arc...p/t-37622.html
http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthread.php?t=83
http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthrea...=1026#post1026

Mine is a 2001 640E.
__________________
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? - Juvenal
(Who watches the watchers)
Kawidad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 08:26 PM   #4185
tileman
Studly Adventurer
 
tileman's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Melbourne, OZ
Oddometer: 835
gas tank replacement?

Hi all.

Has anyone here changed the tank over to one from a later model exc similar to this one,

http://www.safaritanks.com.au/home/9...ypage.tpl.html

I have spoken to wayne at safari tanks and he mentioned a issue with the CV carb interfering with the bottom of the tank. Understanding of course that the standard seat will not fit with the other tank. The mount points as in the follow pictures either side of the frame look similar.

http://strong-clan.smugmug.com/photos/98957871-M.jpg

http://bend27.smugmug.com/Motorcycle...5233&k=spjsQ8J

Obviously the mount points on the rad would be different or not even used,

http://strong-clan.smugmug.com/photos/98957874-M.jpg

The "why"? (because I'd like too)

Any help or ideas are appreciated.
__________________
If ignorance is bliss, why aren´t more people happy?????
tileman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014