ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-25-2013, 04:41 AM   #4186
Queen of Spades
tall drink of water
 
Queen of Spades's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Decatur, GA
Oddometer: 826
Another (kinda pricey) option for longer-than-stock throttle, clutch and choke cables:

http://www.motionpro.com/motorcycle/custom/
__________________
'99 KTM 640 LC4 Enduro http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fifXkDQpda4 (January 2014 snow ride)
Queen of Spades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 01:24 PM   #4187
muttley92
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Oddometer: 65
Ok guys, I have searched the thread index and everywhere else I can think of, but I just can't seem to find any info on Jetting an FCR 41 MX for a straight through pipe and a cone filter (I have no space for an airbox) The engine runs alright but doesn't feel quite right in the higher gears, WILL NOT start when hot and sometimes cuts out if you blip the throttle form idle. Any suggestions? Many thanks.
muttley92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 03:19 PM   #4188
WVhillbilly
Beastly Adventurer
 
WVhillbilly's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Oddometer: 8,693
What does your plug look like?
White, black, brown?

WVhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 04:22 PM   #4189
DaddyBigDaddy
AKA -Evel Kneilson
 
DaddyBigDaddy's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Liberal ShitHole, San Fran-sissyco, Kalee-Fornee-a
Oddometer: 303
KTM 620 carb and cable swap

I need to adapt my 99 620A to the FCR 41 carb

I have a single throttle cable now but need to convert to a dual push/pull cable but want to keep my original throttle receiver w the switches, it's a one piece unit

The throttle receiver has a blocked off 2nd cable receptacle

Can thie be drilled out to accept the second cable? I'm putting on a throttle tamer so no issue attaching both cables... Anyone done this?

I have bar risers so will need 2" longer cables too

Advice, links or parts suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks! DaddyBigDaddy. Ken@AspenRacing.Com
__________________
DaddyBigDaddy
1998 KTM 620 Adventure
2007 KTM 950 SE
2008 KTM 530 EXC
2004 KTM 450
DaddyBigDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 05:11 PM   #4190
dnrobertson
Big Bike, Slow Rider
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Frankston, Australia
Oddometer: 723
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaddyBigDaddy View Post
I need to adapt my 99 620A to the FCR 41 carb

...

I have bar risers so will need 2" longer cables too

Advice, links or parts suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks! DaddyBigDaddy. Ken@AspenRacing.Com
I bought some Venhill cables from Munn that solved the length problem for my 39mm FCR. I cannot find the order at the moment so I don't know part numbers.
__________________
David

2005 KTM 640A
2008 Wee-Strom
dnrobertson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 07:06 PM   #4191
wvrocks
Studly Adventurer
 
wvrocks's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Elkins, WV
Oddometer: 595
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaddyBigDaddy View Post
I need to adapt my 99 620A to the FCR 41 carb

I have a single throttle cable now but need to convert to a dual push/pull cable but want to keep my original throttle receiver w the switches, it's a one piece unit

The throttle receiver has a blocked off 2nd cable receptacle

Can thie be drilled out to accept the second cable? I'm putting on a throttle tamer so no issue attaching both cables... Anyone done this?

I have bar risers so will need 2" longer cables too

Advice, links or parts suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks! DaddyBigDaddy. Ken@AspenRacing.Com
Ken, check your email. I may have something that will work for you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups.
wvrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 07:34 PM   #4192
overlandr
Temporal Shifter
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 5,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by muttley92 View Post
Ok guys, I have searched the thread index and everywhere else I can think of, but I just can't seem to find any info on Jetting an FCR 41 MX ...
Enter the following terms into a google search term window:

ktm 640 FCR41mx jetting +site:advrider.com

and/or try ktmtalk.com
overlandr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 08:50 PM   #4193
mcguyver
Beastly Adventurer
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: BRISBANE
Oddometer: 1,238
Looking for some help here guys.

2006 640 adv. 600000
Kim

Bike starts fine, but if I twist the throttle to 1/4 it stalls.

Pulled the cover off top of carb, thinking it may have been an issue with the needle but all looks good.
Drained carb. Still No good.

Where should I look next? Could it be a fuel pump issue? How do i check?


All info appreciated. I am falling out of love with bike very quickly.
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:00 PM   #4194
lost1
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2003
Oddometer: 57
450 smr wheels on my 02 adventure and vice versa

Anyone know if the ktm 450 17 inch supermoto wheels will fit on my 02 adventure and vice versa. I know a guy who wants to make swap.

Thanks in advance
lost1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 09:38 PM   #4195
gunnerbuck
Island Hopper
 
gunnerbuck's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: N.V.I, B.C.
Oddometer: 3,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcguyver View Post
Looking for some help here guys.

2006 640 adv. 600000
Kim

Bike starts fine, but if I twist the throttle to 1/4 it stalls.

Pulled the cover off top of carb, thinking it may have been an issue with the needle but all looks good.
Drained carb. Still No good.

Where should I look next? Could it be a fuel pump issue? How do i check?


All info appreciated. I am falling out of love with bike very quickly.
600,000 KM ! the bike is worn out....

You must mean 60,000... At that mileage the carb slide, guide and needle jet will be worn out unless they have already been replaced...

With the stalling issue it would be a good idea to make sure the chke/enricher piston is fully closing and not stuck partially on... Also a good idea to pull the carb and give it a good cleaning... Pay attention to the passage ways in the pilot circuit and look for blockages...
gunnerbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 10:56 PM   #4196
mcguyver
Beastly Adventurer
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: BRISBANE
Oddometer: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnerbuck View Post
600,000 KM ! the bike is worn out....

You must mean 60,000... At that mileage the carb slide, guide and needle jet will be worn out unless they have already been replaced...

With the stalling issue it would be a good idea to make sure the chke/enricher piston is fully closing and not stuck partially on... Also a good idea to pull the carb and give it a good cleaning... Pay attention to the passage ways in the pilot circuit and look for blockages...
Tkanks gunnabuck. What do you mean worn out at 600000 Kay's surely not

Of course I meant 60000k. Carb slide needle jet etc are all reasonably new. Pulled carb and blew out. All looked pretty good.

I connect the throttle cables while the carb was off and noticed that the slide does move when I twist the throttle. I know it relies on vacuum, but shouldn't it move up and down when I turn the throttle?
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 11:26 PM   #4197
gunnerbuck
Island Hopper
 
gunnerbuck's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: N.V.I, B.C.
Oddometer: 3,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcguyver View Post
Tkanks gunnabuck. What do you mean worn out at 600000 Kay's surely not

Of course I meant 60000k. Carb slide needle jet etc are all reasonably new. Pulled carb and blew out. All looked pretty good.

I connect the throttle cables while the carb was off and noticed that the slide does move when I twist the throttle. I know it relies on vacuum, but shouldn't it move up and down when I turn the throttle?
The slide has no mechanical connection to the throttle linkage and works solely off engine vaccuum ...

When you blew out the carb did you remove the pilot jet and pilot fuel screw and pass air through them? Did you make sure that air passes through from the air jets in the airbox end of the carb bell?

Does your jet needle have the correct assembly, spring to top plastic washer, to clip {3rd notch}, to bottom plastic washer, to steel washer and then through the slide?

The fuel pump is usually trouble free but at 60,000 km your diaphragms within the pump could be getting tired... Try running a fuel line direct to the carb, bypassing the pump and see if the same thing happens...

Also check the little filter that sits inside the carb intake fuel hose spigot to see if it is clogged...
gunnerbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 12:47 AM   #4198
mcguyver
Beastly Adventurer
 
mcguyver's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: BRISBANE
Oddometer: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnerbuck View Post
The slide has no mechanical connection to the throttle linkage and works solely off engine vaccuum ...

When you blew out the carb did you remove the pilot jet and pilot fuel screw and pass air through them? Did you make sure that air passes through from the air jets in the airbox end of the carb bell?

Does your jet needle have the correct assembly, spring to top plastic washer, to clip {3rd notch}, to bottom plastic washer, to steel washer and then through the slide?

The fuel pump is usually trouble free but at 60,000 km your diaphragms within the pump could be getting tired... Try running a fuel line direct to the carb, bypassing the pump and see if the same thing happens...

Also check the little filter that sits inside the carb intake fuel hose spigot to see if it is clogged...

Thanks Gunner

Did all most of that put it all back together, turned fuel on Andes pouring out the drain hose at the bottom.
I have obviously put the something I incorrectly. Will pull it all apart again.

Wouldn't be so bad if the carb wasn't such a pain in the ass to get out and back in again.
mcguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 01:14 AM   #4199
muttley92
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Oddometer: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by WVhillbilly View Post
What does your plug look like?
White, black, brown?

The plug is black, it was brand new and the motor has run for about an hour I'd say. Think its probably too rich at the bottom. Not sure about top end yet, will sort that later. If I can fix the hot start I'll put it on the road.
muttley92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 02:14 AM   #4200
WVhillbilly
Beastly Adventurer
 
WVhillbilly's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Oddometer: 8,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunnerbuck View Post
600,000 KM ! the bike is worn out....
I bet the seat hasn't softened up yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by muttley92 View Post
The plug is black, it was brand new and the motor has run for about an hour I'd say. Think its probably too rich at the bottom. Not sure about top end yet, will sort that later. If I can fix the hot start I'll put it on the road.
Rich at the bottom, but a dead spot.

Without running it more, it will be hard to judge.
When you have hot start issues does it smell like it's flooded?
WVhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014