Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-2013, 12:03 AM   #1
countzero OP
n00b

Oddometer: 3
Need advice before purchasing my 1st REAL bike.

Hello! First time posting so forgive my noobness. :)

I've spent hours, no, days on ADV and Thumper doing research and would like some suggestions. I apologize in advance for my long-windedness but felt I should lay out as much info as possible.

About me: 5'10", 185 lbs, 28" inseam. I've been riding a Yamaha Zuma 125 scooter every day for 3 years & 11,000 miles. I do almost all of my own wrenching on my vehicles, and while I have wrenched extensively on my scooter, I have never worked on a motorcycle. I've taken the motorcycle safety course on a 250 beginners bike. After finishing the 3day course I asked the instructors what size street bike they thought I could handle, they said anything you want, just control the throttle.

Type of riding: My new bike would be my primary mode of transportation. Running errands & commuting a few miles. 90% of my riding is on flat roads. 40% on bumpy streets, 50% highway, 10% will be Highway/fire roads/ trails in the hills/mountains when I get a DS bike. I hit the freeway as much as I can. MUCH safer.

Budget: $3500 total is the absolute max. Less is better. $2000 would be great.

What I want in a bike in order of importance:

1) Really good gas mileage, like 60-70 mpg. I have a honda civic vx hatch that gets about 25 city & 38 highway but I'm going to hyper-mile it and should get about 35city/60highway. So, if I can't get significantly better mileage then there's no point (other than the fun factor). Im getting 80 mpg city/60 mpg highway on my Zuma 125, but it only goes 60 mph. Ive seen people supposedly getting 70 MPG on their 250's at fuelly.com .