User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-11-2013, 04:51 PM   #1
baloneyskin daddy OP
bikaholic

Oddometer: 1,946
How many miles

I've been riding some sort of 2 wheeled vehicle for over 40 yrs and would have a hard time remembering some of the bikes I 've owned over the yrs let alone have kept an accounting of miles ridden. Yet I continually read posts from inmates that state how many miles they have under their belts. Do riders really do this or is it just a way of boasting? I guess if you only owned a few bikes and kept record of their mileage it's possible but what about dirt riding or riding someone elses bike?
baloneyskin daddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 05:13 PM   #2
usgser
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,966
Doan fret about it. Worry about how much time/miles you have left. I've been legally owning/riding since the 60's and couldn't guess the mileage. Rounds fired doan mean squat, what counts is you been there and made it home.
usgser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:11 PM   #3
max384
Disgruntled Student

Oddometer: 3,051
I've only been riding a few years, and have only owned two bikes, so keeping track of mileage is easy. I also keep a detailed Excel file on every bit of maintenance/farkling work I do to my bikes. I include the date and mileage for each entry. I doubt I'll stop doing this, so I'll always have a good estimate of miles ridden (excluding dirt miles, but honestly they wouldn't add much onto my total).

Pennsylvania to Newfoundland Ride Report
max384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:30 PM   #4
Gonzoso
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 145
Miles acquired can be easy to track for some. I'm 27, been riding since 22. My first bike I have 15k on(easy number) and I'm at 1k on my second. I plan on only owning that bike for a LONG time so it will be easy to keep track of.