User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-14-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
Jacaldo OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 12
Wheel building

Hope this is the right forum to post this. I have recently started wheel building as a side line to my small garage business, I am still practising and have not as yet felt ready to take on paying jobs, I have done a couple for friends. This is a dying art and I am very keen to become a skilled wheel builder, my question is does anyone here know of companies or schools that run courses to anyone willing to pay. I am based in the north west of England, Merseyside, but willing to travel. Thanks
Jacaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 06:39 PM   #2
dogsslober
No neck tie, Ti neck

Oddometer: 810
Push bike

I started with bicycle wheels (self taught reading books) and started motorcycle later. I've only know they teach in bicycle wrench schools. Maybe here in the states at MMI
dogsslober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 06:39 PM   #3
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacaldo View Post
Hope this is the right forum to post this. I have recently started wheel building as a side line to my small garage business, I am still practising and have not as yet felt ready to take on paying jobs, I have done a couple for friends. This is a dying art and I am very keen to become a skilled wheel builder, my question is does anyone here know of companies or schools that run courses to anyone willing to pay. I am based in the north west of England, Merseyside, but willing to travel. Thanks
i think you should just do more and you will get more and more comfy with it. plus you will be able to do it faster too. i have done about a dozen wheels for myself and it takes about 15 minutes to lace one and about 15 minutes to true it. i sit in front of the tv in my shop and do the work as im watching tv even!
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote