ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2013, 10:58 AM   #1
pdxmotorhead OP
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 662
Fitting on oil filter housing..

I noticed on the front of the housing part of the case for the oil filter is a plug, In some dry sump systems on cars this is where I would put a oil pressure fitting? Filter pressure should be oil main pressure correct?

Theory's ? Thoughts?

Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 10:57 PM   #2
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,851
Have to check, but not so on this motor. The filter is before the oil pump and may be under suction. For a pressure sensor, why not Tee off the location of the factory pressure switch?
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 12:18 AM   #3
pdxmotorhead OP
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 662
Cause the oil pump fitting is easy to get at.. :)

I was going to use the pressure sender port with a T,, but while changing my oil got to looking at that fitting.. I hope the filter is after the supply pump like most engines,, suction on a paper filter is bad..

Cheers
Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 04:26 AM   #4
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxmotorhead View Post
suction on a paper filter is bad..
Which is a good reason to run a Scott's!
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Gravity is a very fickle mistress." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 08:47 AM   #5
DirtyADV
Beastly Adventurer
 
DirtyADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: SWEDEN, Skellefteå
Oddometer: 2,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxmotorhead View Post

. I hope the filter is after the supply pump like most engines,, suction on a paper filter is bad..
Would guess its suction since the filter collapse if restricted cause of water contamination.

/Johan
__________________
Have changed name, was previously Dirty950

www.dirtyadv.com (under construction)
DirtyADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:29 PM   #6
pdxmotorhead OP
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 662
Could be either,, if its under pressure,, its pressure from the outside in,, so it would collapse when the water fouled the element.

Hopefully I am past that problem for a while with the new CJ kit in there! :)

DAve
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 12:12 AM   #7
Masa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Masa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: F1nland
Oddometer: 296
Pressure pump is before the filter and oil flows from outside to inside of filter.

Oil pressure taken from the filter housing wouldn't inform about clogged filter - right?
Masa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 12:23 AM   #8
pdxmotorhead OP
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 662
I figured if you check it with a new filter and the filter water fouls the pressure should climb letting you know its plugged..

But on thinking on it,, it may just dump all the oil out the relieve valve.. Hmm.

Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 01:09 AM   #9
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxmotorhead View Post
I figured if you check it with a new filter and the filter water fouls the pressure should climb letting you know its plugged..

But on thinking on it,, it may just dump all the oil out the relieve valve.. Hmm.

Dave
Relieve valve? is there a relieve valve?
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 05:01 AM   #10
Masa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Masa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: F1nland
Oddometer: 296
I suppose you would get higher pressure on low rpms, before the pressure regulator's working window.

You could tap the line for the gauge to either of the cam tensioner bolts, as others have done.
Masa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 03:36 PM   #11
pdxmotorhead OP
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 662
Ok,, I admit it,, I'm a gauge freak.. So I have a new more better idea for that port, I'm going to use it for an Oil Temp guage.. and put a T on the pressure sensor (Factory location) for the pressure guage..

Eventually I'll have, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, Exhaust temp, Cyl head temp. Via a single quad display, havnt decided on needles or digital yet... Its a sickness..


Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 05:14 PM   #12
Katoom72
Studly Adventurer
 
Katoom72's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxmotorhead View Post
Ok,, I admit it,, I'm a gauge freak.. So I have a new more better idea for that port, I'm going to use it for an Oil Temp guage.. and put a T on the pressure sensor (Factory location) for the pressure guage..

Eventually I'll have, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp, Exhaust temp, Cyl head temp. Via a single quad display, havnt decided on needles or digital yet... Its a sickness..


Dave
Damn, is that some catchy virus or something?
__________________
Now:
'03 KTM 250sx -- '05 KTM Adventure 950
Before:
'00 KTM 250sx -- '03 KTM 450sx -- '03 Yamaha R6 -- '08 KTM SuperDuke R --- '13 KTM 690 enduro R
Katoom72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 11:29 AM   #13
pdxmotorhead OP
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 662
I don't know,, I guess its a racing thing,, I maintain track cars for other people on the side, while I don't tune with them knowing all the temps and pressures has helped me head off bad things before they happen..

Now I feel like I forgot something if I don't know the voltage, oil pressure etc..

Cheers..

Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014