User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-17-2013, 11:45 AM   #1
rodr OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 577
Do you have fun efficiently?

I think about that a lot. I started riding (after 30-year hiatus that is) five years ago, and it still kills me if a day goes by without getting on the motorcycle. It's fun and I want to do it as much as possible, however it's not always possible. So it's important to make the most of opportunities to ride.

There's an art and a science to this. Here are some thoughts I've come up with to improve the quality of a rider's life.

Let's start with commuting. There are many beautiful areas of the world and I happen to live in one of them.

People come from around the world just to experience the geographical and cultural wonderland that is Northern California. They set aside TIME for this. How is it possible to consider traveling around this paradise an unpleasant chore? Yet many of us here do that when we commute to work and back. Why not take some extra time at least once a week, get up earlier, and hit the back roads? See some of the beauty that surrounds you. Think of it as a tiny little vacation. It just takes a little change of mindset and schedule.

Another thing you can do is combine vacation activities that complement each other. For example I'm planning to start a moto tour of Glacier and Yellowstone National Parks this summer with my first Iron Butt ride. I really look forward to saying to myself, "Oh look, it's the second day of my vacation and I'm in Montana with a motorcycle. And oh look, I also qualified for an Iron Butt certificate!" With this kind of efficiency I'll extend the reach of that trip and also do some other fun thing with the time I saved by not doing a separate Iron Butt ride.