User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-17-2013, 08:15 PM   #1
Hawk62cj5 OP
2 Cheap 4 a KLR

Oddometer: 574
Falling , the right way?

Im a newbie to riding and have been riding about 9 months or so and have put almost a couple thousand miles on my Sherpa . I ride mostly onroad or gravel but 5% or so is off road and my only off where more than my pride was hurt was off road . Ive been watching some vids just to see what are the dos and donts and I have noticed it look like most of the guys with experience fall the same way , they end up with legs clear of the bike when it hits the ground. Any pointers besides dont fall ? I figure falling is part of riding off road so might as well do it right .
Hawk62cj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:52 AM   #2
RVDan
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,264
Im not an expert on falling, but my experience indicates trying to stop yourself results in wrist injuries

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRocker
You can never have too much hook.
RVDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 03:56 AM   #3
PeterW
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,391
If you can find somewhere that teaches Judo, take a few lessons.

Otherwise, get from under the bike, if necessary push it away as you fall, keep the fists closed and try to spread the impact as much as possible. i.e. don't stick your arms out to break the fall.

Sliding is better than tumbling and you have quite a bit of directional control with your boots and gloves - once you've already hit the ground.

Not panicing and going into brain freeze is the big win, Judo lessons will help there as well.

Pete
PeterW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 05:48 AM   #4
Mambo Dave
Backyard Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,309
I probably have used that training we did way back in 2nd or 3rd grade where the gym teacher had us jump off of the stage onto a mat, then roll it out, about a million times by now.