User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-19-2013, 07:25 AM   #1
GSAragazzi OP
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,393
Eek Crazy Video

Disclaimer: Posting this bc I find it "educational" Ive been riding for more than 20 yrs and sometimes i get complacent. This vid shows guys either giving up or not finishing the turn, giving gas too early at apex, target fixation issues, not understanding countersteering, not looking far down thru intersections or just plain unlucky surrounded by careless BAD cage drivers among other issues. I dont want to say enjoy bc i do not wish this on ANYONE, but please watch. It reminded me of some basics that either Ive forgot or were doing automatic/robotic.
Here it is:

Cheers
Old 03-19-2013, 08:54 AM   #2
It'sNotTheBike
Banned

Oddometer: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by GSAragazzi View Post
This vid shows guys either giving up or not finishing the turn, giving gas too early at apex, target fixation issues, not understanding countersteering, not looking far down thru intersections or just plain unlucky surrounded by careless BAD cage drivers among other issues.

The primary "education" which can be derived from this video is that
when you ride like an idiot you might be hurt or killed.

Many of the crashes in this video involved riders doing incredibly
stupid things which did not need to be done.

Riding 30-40mph faster than traffic, in dense traffic, is stupid. Most drivers don't expect such a
speed differential and it is not reasonable to expect them to notice you when you suddenly appear
out of nowhere going significantly faster than traffic. Lane splitting between parked cars and moving cars is
a bad idea because a door opening in your path leaves you NO escape and a crash is nearly certain.
Most of the crashes could easily have been avoided by not riding like an idiot. This is not a riding
"technique" issue, it is a JUDGEMENT issue.