ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2013, 01:38 PM   #1
mousitsas OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
mousitsas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Oddometer: 2,585
One for electrics gurus

I would like to intercept the rpm signal on an SE. What are the options?
Google search returned something about pin #6 of the cluster plug. What signal is this? A frequency pulse or an rpm-dependent voltage?
Alternatively, would it be possible to intercept the stator signal and extract an rpm-dependent frequency from it?

Many thanks for your input.
mousitsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 07:04 PM   #2
Motomedic
Beastly Adventurer
 
Motomedic's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Spokane
Oddometer: 2,361
It's a pulse-5vdc. Happens pretty quickly too- have a good meter set up in the proper range. Auto-ranging takes too long.
__________________
Feike

I don't have to agree with you to like you or respect you. -Anthony Bourdain
Motomedic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:00 PM   #3
mousitsas OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
mousitsas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Oddometer: 2,585
muchas gracias!
mousitsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 11:24 PM   #4
Remmie
Adventurer
 
Remmie's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Duiven, The Netherlands
Oddometer: 93
Look at this like. Its Dutch. But, if you look at the pictures you see what I mean.
This is the cheap version of getting the rpm signal from the cluster plug.
It works

http://forum.lc8.nl/viewtopic.php?t=4222&start=45

Remmie
__________________
I recycle, I sniff my own farts
Remmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:08 AM   #5
mousitsas OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
mousitsas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Oddometer: 2,585
Thanks Remmie. It is the yellow wire then, right? What I cannot tell is if it already exists in the harness, or if you installed it there instead.
mousitsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 07:51 AM   #6
Remmie
Adventurer
 
Remmie's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: Duiven, The Netherlands
Oddometer: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by mousitsas View Post
Thanks Remmie. It is the yellow wire then, right? What I cannot tell is if it already exists in the harness, or if you installed it there instead.
The yellow wire is a new installed and connects the tachometer on the dash.There is no pin in the plug for the Tachometer.

So you have to take the plug apart and place a new pin in it. But to find e new/used pin is the problem.What you see is e cheap version without the pin.

Remark on this picture: You have to pull the wire back in the plug so its just inside the plug. When you place the plug back it connects with the (male) pin from the unit.




Remmie

__________________
I recycle, I sniff my own farts
Remmie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:04 AM   #7
mousitsas OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
mousitsas's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Athens, Greece
Oddometer: 2,585
That is excellent. Thanks for your time!
mousitsas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 08:53 PM   #8
Wizard
Adventure Rider
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Location: Shawnee, KS
Oddometer: 72
Where can you buy a tach in the USA like pictured above??

Thanks,
Jim
__________________
14 R1200Gsa 05.5 Ktm 950Adv 13 Husky Terra 08 WR250r 01 Ktm 520exc
Wizard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 10:46 PM   #9
pdxmotorhead
Gnarly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 490
Wicks or Aircraft spruce I believe there is a small one for ultralights.. I saw one on VDO's web page too I think.. Was lookign for one for a small race car a while back..

Dave
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:38 PM   #10
geometrician
let's keep going...
 
geometrician's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: West-By-God Virginia
Oddometer: 1,021
Cool2 The World is Your Oyster

Most every tachometer on Japanese (& most Euro) bikes operates directly from the primary of the ignition coil.

A search of fleabay or your local motorcycle salvage operation should provide plenty of cheap, easy choices. Just pick the one that fits your mounting ideas/requirements- a little wiring (hey you want the light on in there don't you?) some spraypaint & you're good to go!
__________________
Britt
'06 KTM 950 Adv 'S'
'03 KTM 250 EXC
'87 KLR650 - <200K miles "Like the Energizer Bunny, just keeps going & going..."
geometrician is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014