User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-20-2013, 09:46 AM   #1
BenYork OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 61
Breaking S#!t in the Saline Valley

Well, I have been riding bikes for 18 months now, and would like to contribute back to the site I have had so much fun with. Last Wednesday I called my buddy, Matt (Swarthy_Red_Beard), and we decided to go to Death Valley to do some riding. Naturally we decided to base camp at Saline Valley, so as to enjoy the hot water. We would trailer in his truck, with his trailer. Him on the KTM 525 me on a DR 650.

Here we are above Mono Lake. We drove from Humboldt County, stayed the night in Tahoe, and continued down south.

Airing down the tires for the violent trip down Saline Valley Road.

Flying down the road towards the springs. This was to prove somewhat detrimental to the trailer, bikes, gas cans, firewood etc. later in the trip. We brought 50 gallons of extra gas and food for a month.

Rolling up Bat Rock Road we were met by the welcoming committee.

In camp that night we made dinner, enjoyed the springs, and went to bed anticipating the ride in the morning.

To be continued in the morning. . .
BenYork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:00 AM   #2
BenYork OP
Adventurer

Day One...

I woke up in the morning and sat in the hot water. . . Watched the sun come up. Then went and got Matt up. He had some bearings to replace, and I had to do a bit of mucking about on my bike. We ended up not getting going until around noon...