Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-25-2013, 05:52 PM   #1
JGatlin OP
Bonafide n00b

Oddometer: 17
DR200SE Carb Breakdown and soak questions, picture heavy

Howdy folks,

I am trying to get a friend's 2003 (?) DR200 up and running. The bike was apparently purchased in the Flea Market from an owner in Miami a few years back. It has been sitting for 3 years with a full tank in a dry basement.

I have very little experience working on motorcycles, but I have worked on trucks in the past and am a master bicycle mechanic. Which probably don't count fer nothin, but c'est la vie. Over the past couple weeks I have perused the DR200 thread and others, secured the owner's/shop manual, and began to order some parts. Last week I pulled the carb to give it a look see and start tinkering. First, a picture of the drained gas:

Greeeeeen goodies. Egads. Ethanol? Anyhow. Onto the float bowl and whatnot:

Gunky. Varnish. No wonder it didn't start. So now I read about carb soaking and buy a thing o' Pine Sol, I consult the manual RE: how to disassemble this thing, and I set to work. Here's how far I got:

Or at least, that's all the small parts I could remove. Here's a close up of the valve seat and the needle jet. Needless to say, I can't seem to remove the needle jet:

And the little dome filter on the other side is all puckered:

Notes:
The manual indicated that I should have needed to drill through a plug to access the pilot screw. I found no such plug. Also, I can't figure out how to remove the starter plunger assembly. Like many shop manuals, the instructions do not actually instruct one how to remove a particular item, only that removal is necessary. The problem as I see it is that the choke knob is bigger than the nut below it. Therefore I cannot use a socket. and the nut has zero access to use a box end wrench:

Questions: