ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2013, 04:51 PM   #1
Bob Tosi OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Bob Tosi's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chico, Ca
Oddometer: 1,599
GPS noob with a 76CSX

i have a 76CSX and need to get some maps and/or routes made and put on it. I tried to download Mapsource but couldnt because I dont have a previous version of Mapsource on the new computer.

How do I get Mapsouce? CanI just make a route in Google maps and download it to the GPS
__________________
When you're lost in the wild and scared as a child. And death looks you bang in the eye, and your sore as a boil, its according to Hoyle to cock your revolver... and die. But the code of a man says "fight all you can" and self-dissolution is barred. In hunger and woe, its easy to blow... Its the hell-served-for-breakfast thats hard........Robert Service
Bob Tosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:30 PM   #2
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,709
First you need lots of set up.

Buy a 4 gig data card for about $8.

Go to my class on DualSportWest.com click GPS and just start reading and doing.

Next you need MapSource or Basecamp for your computer and you need maps for your 76.

You can try to find an old copy of Roads & rec Mapsource but best to just start with a DVD of City Nav (about $85), install it on your computer then download the portion of where ever you ride to 76.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:16 PM   #3
Dustodust
Studly Adventurer
 
Dustodust's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Hillsboro Oregon
Oddometer: 748
If you get stumped after going over DS west, just call Garmin Tech support
Learn all you can first so you have cogent questions and they can help you better.
I spent a whole day fiddlediken around and kept hitting walls
Called garmin and the tech spent an hour with me and got everything sorted out , made a liteyear leap in an hour
__________________
04 KTM 950 S
04 KTM 525 EXC street plated
Dustodust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:49 AM   #4
Bob Tosi OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Bob Tosi's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chico, Ca
Oddometer: 1,599
I used to have Mapsource on an old computer that gave up the ghost and don't remember how or where the disk is.

I'm not sure if this units memory is expandable. Will need to check on that. Does anyone know where this memory stick hides on this unit?

There are maps on it now, I just need something to make a route on my computer and download the route to the computer. Make sence?
__________________
When you're lost in the wild and scared as a child. And death looks you bang in the eye, and your sore as a boil, its according to Hoyle to cock your revolver... and die. But the code of a man says "fight all you can" and self-dissolution is barred. In hunger and woe, its easy to blow... Its the hell-served-for-breakfast thats hard........Robert Service
Bob Tosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:43 PM   #5
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Tosi View Post
I used to have Mapsource on an old computer that gave up the ghost and don't remember how or where the disk is.

I'm not sure if this units memory is expandable. Will need to check on that. Does anyone know where this memory stick hides on this unit?

There are maps on it now, I just need something to make a route on my computer and download the route to the computer. Make sence?
Did you buy it new? They come with almost no memory and no real maps, just base map of major highways. Memory is right below lower battery. Push it in and it will pop out like a ball point pen.

Like I said, get 4 gig micro SD for $8 and get City Nav for $85 unless you bought it used and it has them but you need CN for computer anyway.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:54 AM   #6
NorthernTraveler
Long time Adventurer
 
NorthernTraveler's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The Big Mitten
Oddometer: 356
Maps

You can also get maps for free from GPSfiledepot.com

The Ibycus USA map is pretty good.

The Topo maps are too busy on the screen for that unit.

If you do buy maps from Garmin, get then on a CD or DVD.... don't just download them or buy the SD card - you'll regret it in the future.
NorthernTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:52 AM   #7
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthernTraveler View Post
The Ibycus USA map is pretty good.
Is that basically R & R 1:100,000 USGS?

I need to update "getting maps" on my DualSportWest.com GPS class

Give me some Ideas what you would say.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 12:34 PM   #8
Bob Tosi OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Bob Tosi's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chico, Ca
Oddometer: 1,599
The unit was bought used here in the flea market. It's got some kind if map on it. Don't know what it is exactly.

Ill check on the memory chip.

I have basically used it in conjunction with a map to verify coordinated and location. I want to starting learning the GPS craft more so I can make my own routes and take off with my SPOT and go riding.
__________________
When you're lost in the wild and scared as a child. And death looks you bang in the eye, and your sore as a boil, its according to Hoyle to cock your revolver... and die. But the code of a man says "fight all you can" and self-dissolution is barred. In hunger and woe, its easy to blow... Its the hell-served-for-breakfast thats hard........Robert Service

Bob Tosi screwed with this post 03-31-2013 at 07:35 PM
Bob Tosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 06:40 PM   #9
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,130
[QUOTE=NorthernTraveler;21075218]The Ibycus USA map is pretty good. QUOTE]

[QUOTE=Countdown;21076469]Is that basically R & R 1:100,000 USGS? QUOTE]

Ibycus: http://www.ibycus.com/ibycususa/

The Ibycus USA has no topo data.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:34 AM   #10
Bob Tosi OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Bob Tosi's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chico, Ca
Oddometer: 1,599
Looks like I have a 4gig chip.

I'm not sure what map is on there but it's local in CA.
__________________
When you're lost in the wild and scared as a child. And death looks you bang in the eye, and your sore as a boil, its according to Hoyle to cock your revolver... and die. But the code of a man says "fight all you can" and self-dissolution is barred. In hunger and woe, its easy to blow... Its the hell-served-for-breakfast thats hard........Robert Service
Bob Tosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:02 PM   #11
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Tosi View Post
Looks like I have a 4gig chip.

I'm not sure what map is on there but it's local in CA.
Back to my 60/76 class on DualSportWest it tells you how to see what maps are installed and which map is actually turned on.

From Map page hit menu, go down to set up, then go to 2nd Icon from right (!),

The map status is at bottoom of pulldown. Only trick is the word "HIde" & "Show" are verbs, if you enter it will go to that state (it is not the current state) Also only one map shows at a time and there is a funny heiracle ligic so just turn on "Base" and the one other map you want.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:28 PM   #12
Bob Tosi OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
Bob Tosi's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Chico, Ca
Oddometer: 1,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Countdown View Post
Back to my 60/76 class on DualSportWest it tells you how to see what maps are installed and which map is actually turned on.

From Map page hit menu, go down to set up, then go to 2nd Icon from right (!),

The map status is at bottoom of pulldown. Only trick is the word "HIde" & "Show" are verbs, if you enter it will go to that state (it is not the current state) Also only one map shows at a time and there is a funny heiracle ligic so just turn on "Base" and the one other map you want.
Is that with the unit hooked up to a computer?
__________________
When you're lost in the wild and scared as a child. And death looks you bang in the eye, and your sore as a boil, its according to Hoyle to cock your revolver... and die. But the code of a man says "fight all you can" and self-dissolution is barred. In hunger and woe, its easy to blow... Its the hell-served-for-breakfast thats hard........Robert Service
Bob Tosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:03 PM   #13
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,130
No.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 10:37 PM   #14
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Tosi View Post
Is that with the unit hooked up to a computer?
The class is for a 60/76 stand alone until the very end when it gets into Mapsource.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:26 AM   #15
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,598
A little off subject, but is Garmin still including Mapsource in the new map DVDs it sells?

I guess I would be a little suprised since they have supposedly dropped the product.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014