ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2013, 04:44 AM   #1
DeepSeaOne OP
Carnivore
 
DeepSeaOne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 58
Question KTM Fuel mapping

All,
I have a 2013 690 Enduro and I'm ordering a pipe for it this week. Having read a few threads on the need for fuel mapping being hit or miss depending on configuration, type of mod etc....the 2013 has adjustable fuel mapping under the seat...

Is it a safe assumption that I can simply use one of the factory map settings to at least to get close to optimal?
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R, FMF Apex, Vortex ECU
2014 Night Rod Special, Vance & Hines/Screaming Eagle package
DeepSeaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 07:05 AM   #2
ramjet
Beastly Adventurer
 
ramjet's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Super F'd Up N. California
Oddometer: 2,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepSeaOne View Post
All,
I have a 2013 690 Enduro and I'm ordering a pipe for it this week. Having read a few threads on the need for fuel mapping being hit or miss depending on configuration, type of mod etc....the 2013 has adjustable fuel mapping under the seat...

Is it a safe assumption that I can simply use one of the factory map settings to at least to get close to optimal?
No. It's a KTM.
__________________

Qui Desiderant Pacem Preparate Bellum

(Are you understanding now!?)
ramjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 07:44 AM   #3
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 8,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepSeaOne View Post
All,
I have a 2013 690 Enduro and I'm ordering a pipe for it this week. Having read a few threads on the need for fuel mapping being hit or miss depending on configuration, type of mod etc....the 2013 has adjustable fuel mapping under the seat...

Is it a safe assumption that I can simply use one of the factory map settings to at least to get close to optimal?
That's an ignition map switch, not a fuel map switch.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:12 AM   #4
DeepSeaOne OP
Carnivore
 
DeepSeaOne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
That's an ignition map switch, not a fuel map switch.
Ahh, that explains the aftermarket bar mounted units I've been seeing.
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R, FMF Apex, Vortex ECU
2014 Night Rod Special, Vance & Hines/Screaming Eagle package
DeepSeaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:21 AM   #5
dirty_sanchez
Dirty_Sanchez
 
dirty_sanchez's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: Louisiana, Baton Rouge
Oddometer: 2,772
It'll run like a scalded ape just the way it's delivered.

Uni Twin Pod air filter, a Wings can, and the canisterectomy/22k ohm resister mod are the only engine related mods I made and that's all I'm gonna do.

Dirty
__________________
No, really, the mustache means I love you.
dirty_sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 08:32 AM   #6
DeepSeaOne OP
Carnivore
 
DeepSeaOne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez View Post
It'll run like a scalded ape just the way it's delivered.

Uni Twin Pod air filter, a Wings can, and the canisterectomy/22k ohm resister mod are the only engine related mods I made and that's all I'm gonna do.

Dirty
Yes...it's "Uh-Oh" fast as is but it sounds like a scooter. I'm doing pretty much the same to mine cept a FMF pipe/can. Should sound (and run) like war.
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R, FMF Apex, Vortex ECU
2014 Night Rod Special, Vance & Hines/Screaming Eagle package
DeepSeaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:51 AM   #7
sprouty115
Beastly Adventurer
 
sprouty115's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty_sanchez View Post
It'll run like a scalded ape just the way it's delivered.

Uni Twin Pod air filter, a Wings can, and the canisterectomy/22k ohm resister mod are the only engine related mods I made and that's all I'm gonna do.

Dirty
No mapping adjustment at all? On an already factory-lean-mapped bike? I've been down this road on an FI Triumph, the bike appears to run fine but anyone who actually spends the coin on a dyno finds out pretty quickly it's a dangerous assumption.
sprouty115 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 04:45 PM   #8
DeepSeaOne OP
Carnivore
 
DeepSeaOne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprouty115 View Post
No mapping adjustment at all? On an already factory-lean-mapped bike? I've been down this road on an FI Triumph, the bike appears to run fine but anyone who actually spends the coin on a dyno finds out pretty quickly it's a dangerous assumption.
If the ECM was done right it should be able to compensate for breathing mods with ease providing the change isn't major (which a can and filter is not necessarily). These things would be extremely altitude sensitive if they were bothered by such things.

That said I'm sure there are platforms that could be negatively affected but it doesn't necessarily take a dyno to figure that out. Long before dyno's became mainstream we were simply reading spark plugs with a pretty good degree of accuracy.
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R, FMF Apex, Vortex ECU
2014 Night Rod Special, Vance & Hines/Screaming Eagle package
DeepSeaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:27 PM   #9
sprouty115
Beastly Adventurer
 
sprouty115's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2012
Location: Providence, RI
Oddometer: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepSeaOne View Post
If the ECM was done right it should be able to compensate for breathing mods with ease providing the change isn't major (which a can and filter is not necessarily). These things would be extremely altitude sensitive if they were bothered by such things.

That said I'm sure there are platforms that could be negatively affected but it doesn't necessarily take a dyno to figure that out. Long before dyno's became mainstream we were simply reading spark plugs with a pretty good degree of accuracy.
Maybe KTM did a better job than Triumph, I don't know. But an exhaust and filter change are a big deal on the Triumph classic series bikes. Just to be clear, I'm not suggesting every bike needs to go on a dyno, but a correct map buys you engine life even if you don't feel it in the seat of your pants and as a general recommendation it's a good idea.

sprouty115 screwed with this post 03-31-2013 at 07:14 PM
sprouty115 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 08:32 AM   #10
wsmc831
Studly Adventurer
 
wsmc831's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Oddometer: 634
Get a filter and the evo1 airbox lid, load up evo1 map with tuneecu...or you could just load the Akro map if you didn't want to deal with airbox. I've loaded maps to 3 different 690 enduros (08/10/12) and all ran the best with evo1 map vs akro map.
__________________
97 TL1000S
2010 690 EnduroR
2013 500 Exc
wsmc831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:51 AM   #11
DeepSeaOne OP
Carnivore
 
DeepSeaOne's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Earth
Oddometer: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmc831 View Post
Get a filter and the evo1 airbox lid, load up evo1 map with tuneecu...or you could just load the Akro map if you didn't want to deal with airbox. I've loaded maps to 3 different 690 enduros (08/10/12) and all ran the best with evo1 map vs akro map.
I'll likely do that. For now I'm going to see how it does just with a can and a K&N then pick up the tuner.
__________________
2013 KTM 690 Enduro R, FMF Apex, Vortex ECU
2014 Night Rod Special, Vance & Hines/Screaming Eagle package
DeepSeaOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 12:47 PM   #12
dep411
Gnarly Adventurer
 
dep411's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsmc831 View Post
Get a filter and the evo1 airbox lid, load up evo1 map with tuneecu...or you could just load the Akro map if you didn't want to deal with airbox. I've loaded maps to 3 different 690 enduros (08/10/12) and all ran the best with evo1 map vs akro map.

If you can chime in:

I have the wings slip on/ DNA open snorkel air filter on a 2013 690E

I can't find the arko map but on the tuneecu site I found the EVO1 map only.

don't know what to load on the ECU as this is the first time doing this..

thanks for any help
dep411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014