ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 04:02 PM   #1
Skinner OP
Mr.KTM
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Lake county Il
Oddometer: 5,608
GPS mount 2013 adventure baja

Ok , I am confused. Bike came with a Gps mount, but how do I mount a GPS to it.

I am thinking the Garmin Montana would be nice.\

I appreciate any help and promise my next 10 posts will be nice and not smart alecky
__________________
You might be an ADVRider if:

You recognize your friends by the sound of their mufflers.
http://www.meetup.com/Chicagoland-Du...torcycle-Club/
www.jimstarwaltteam.com
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
smitty141
Studly Adventurer
 
smitty141's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Hooterville Mo.
Oddometer: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinner View Post
Ok , I am confused. Bike came with a Gps mount, but how do I mount a GPS to it.

I am thinking the Garmin Montana would be nice.\

I appreciate any help and promise my next 10 posts will be nice and not smart alecky
I think it is a Touratech mount. Does it have a round bar going strait across?? If so, its made for one of there GPS mounts.

Smitty
smitty141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:10 PM   #3
Skinner OP
Mr.KTM
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Lake county Il
Oddometer: 5,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitty141 View Post
I think it is a Touratech mount. Does it have a round bar going strait across?? If so, its made for one of there GPS mounts.

Smitty
yes a straight bar across the front. So, I still need a touratech mount, to mount to the mount
__________________
You might be an ADVRider if:

You recognize your friends by the sound of their mufflers.
http://www.meetup.com/Chicagoland-Du...torcycle-Club/
www.jimstarwaltteam.com
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:47 PM   #4
ciedema
мотоциклист
 
ciedema's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: On the road! Finally!
Oddometer: 1,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinner View Post
yes a straight bar across the front. So, I still need a touratech mount, to mount to the mount
RAM have a round bar mount that will work with this.
__________________
Stories from the Seat Facebook My Photos Cannonball Charity Ride
Personal Attacks - the last refuge of the intellectually impaired.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XR650L_Dave View Post
The only guaranteed route to failure is the attempted solution of problems through the application of ideology.
ciedema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 09:37 PM   #5
The Griz
North Forest Rider
 
The Griz's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oddometer: 3,785
Actually the mount that comes pre-installed on the 2013 990 Baja is the the Touratech 'GPS Mount Adapter':

http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/P...re-LC8-2009-on

It provides the Touratech standard 12mm GPS mount bar.

It requires a Touratech GPS holder.

Just buy one of the Touratech GPS holders for your specific GPS and it will mount perfectly to the 12mm bar on the GPS Mount Adapter.

As an example, I have the Garmin Nuvi 550 GPS. I have the Touratech GPS Mount Adapter (what came on your bike from the factory). I bought the Touratech GPS holder for my Nuvi 550 and it mounts to the 12mm bar of the Touratech GPS Mount Adapter. Here is a pic of it Mounted:

__________________
PAUL BUNYAN FOREST RIDERS MC
2013 KTM 300 XC-W
2014 KTM 690 Enduro R
The Griz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 09:50 AM   #6
Skinner OP
Mr.KTM
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Lake county Il
Oddometer: 5,608
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Griz View Post
Actually the mount that comes pre-installed on the 2013 990 Baja is the the Touratech 'GPS Mount Adapter':

http://www.touratech-usa.com/Store/P...re-LC8-2009-on

It provides the Touratech standard 12mm GPS mount bar.

It requires a Touratech GPS holder.

Just buy one of the Touratech GPS holders for your specific GPS and it will mount perfectly to the 12mm bar on the GPS Mount Adapter.

As an example, I have the Garmin Nuvi 550 GPS. I have the Touratech GPS Mount Adapter (what came on your bike from the factory). I bought the Touratech GPS holder for my Nuvi 550 and it mounts to the 12mm bar of the Touratech GPS Mount Adapter. Here is a pic of it Mounted:

Thanks all! Now I have to nice a polite for a while
__________________
You might be an ADVRider if:

You recognize your friends by the sound of their mufflers.
http://www.meetup.com/Chicagoland-Du...torcycle-Club/
www.jimstarwaltteam.com
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 12:45 PM   #7
Chinookmark
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: New Hartford, CT
Oddometer: 184
I made a mount plate out of 1/8 aluminum. It's got 4 holes in the center to bolt the Montana rugged mount, then 4 holes outboard with U-bolts clamped around the mount bar. I put a length of 1/2 vacuum line over the mount bar to add a little girth and vibe damping.

Pics when I get home.
Chinookmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 02:04 PM   #8
Chinookmark
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: New Hartford, CT
Oddometer: 184
Granted, this is a 2005 Adventure, not the new Baja, but the mount is essentially the same, and it saves a few bills on the Touratech locking mount.





Chinookmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 03:51 PM   #9
Skinner OP
Mr.KTM
 
Skinner's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Lake county Il
Oddometer: 5,608
Chinookmark, Nice!!
__________________
You might be an ADVRider if:

You recognize your friends by the sound of their mufflers.
http://www.meetup.com/Chicagoland-Du...torcycle-Club/
www.jimstarwaltteam.com
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:43 PM   #10
laramie LC4
crash test dummy!
 
laramie LC4's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Tucson, Az
Oddometer: 2,346
Quote:
would you call that dampend ???

nice thinking.

here is a pic of my set up with a touratech (very abused over it's 10yr life) and a EE computer mount (modified). i use this on all my bikes, just swap the mount from bike to bike.



laters,

laramie
__________________
DON'T TRUST CUT 7! HE IS A CROOK! ASK ME HOW I KNOW.

'12 LC8 990R, '02 LC4 640, '05 WR 450f (part-out), '98 XR400R, '76 KE100, '05 525 (Step-Child)
laramie LC4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 05:01 PM   #11
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,770
Well the TT mounting bar works as a damper as well

Your mounting straight on the steering bars is taking all the beating. In the former setup the mounting bar does some damping. TT meant to use both damping methods together.
gefr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014