ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
snohobo OP
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
08 KTM 690 - FI light - bike runs rough - induction manifold pressure?

Howdy folks,

None of you might remember but I rode my 690 from Colombia to Argentina last year - and shipped it back in May.

Thread here....

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=729679


I haven't been riding lately but last week I was getting the bike back together, putting on some new parts, etc...

The only engine related part I put on was a new Remus pipe. Other stuff was new tires, plastics, cogs, sprocket, chain...

I noticed that the bike would turn over, but not start. Battery was charged, fuel pump priming - but it just wouldnt catch.

I had the upgraded fuel injector in my spare parts bag - and thought that might be the problem - so i installed it. Sure enough - the bike would now start, and idle - but would refuse to run. I could get it going in 1st and 2nd - but the bike would backfire badly, and die when the rpms dropped to idle.

Then the FI light came on - 9 blinks which indicate - Input signal from pressure sensor of induction manifold too low/high ktm.

What the hell and where the hell is the pressure sensor of induction manifold?

In Colombia - i had another related issue where the bike wouldnt start - and I got the same FI light. I brought it to the dealer and they cleared the code and put in a new spark plug and that seemed to fix the problem - for about 15,000 miles.

Does anyone know anything about this code? I can only find 2 examples of it ever being mentioned on google - and both didnt have much info.

Thanks
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 12:54 AM   #2
Bill the Bong
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 789
MAP sensor sits on top of the throttle body. Check connectors for corrosion.

See this diagramme:

http://www.hondapartspitstop.com/pag...7e18%7c%7e0041

Don't know if that helps.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 09:33 AM   #3
snohobo OP
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill the Bong View Post
MAP sensor sits on top of the throttle body. Check connectors for corrosion.

See this diagramme:

http://www.hondapartspitstop.com/pag...7e18%7c%7e0041

Don't know if that helps.
I'll inspect it, and clean it tonight. I'll report back - thanks for the tip.
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 05:25 PM   #4
snohobo OP
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
Was connected fine, sensor appeared clean and in working order. Cleaned and reconnected it - still getting an error.

Worth getting the tuneECU cable and resetting the code myself?
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 10:44 AM   #5
Bill the Bong
Supern00ba
 
Bill the Bong's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Kalahari South Africa
Oddometer: 789
I would check the wiring for continuity to the sensor. Also check for breaks in the insulation that could cause a short to earth. Also make sure that it is 9 short blinks, not 9 long ones, thta would be the TPS not the MAP sensor.
__________________
KTM 690 R - "Its just a little crush..."
Bill the Bong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 11:51 AM   #6
wrk2surf
on the gas or brakes
 
wrk2surf's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: THE exact center of California/Bass lake/Yosemite
Oddometer: 6,103
you tried the 15 min idle reset?

perhaps the remus has not enough back pressure
__________________
Thanks for the 2014 support:BELL HELMETS, SCOTT USA, Kriega USA, Carbon-pro.com, GPR stabilzers, Renazco Racing, Sidi/Motonation, Masters paint and body, Magura , motolab , Tripy GPS, Loctite and Dunlop tires .
wrk2surf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 04:20 PM   #7
snohobo OP
Supermoto hippy
 
snohobo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: somewhere in south america
Oddometer: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrk2surf View Post
you tried the 15 min idle reset?

perhaps the remus has not enough back pressure
I did try the 15 min idle reset.

I could try putting the old remus back on. It's the same pipe - but the new one is less damaged and has a different mounting bracket.

I'll get cranking on all of this tomorrow - work calls!

Thanks for all your help so far people. Much appreciated.
__________________
Ride Reports:

Supermoto Around Death Valley - In Progress

Supermoto Around South America - Terminado
snohobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014