Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-10-2013, 06:33 AM   #1
LaurentM OP
Laurent

Oddometer: 22
KLR in the USA

Hi everybody,

I am looking for a KLR650.

I am a Belgian citizen and resident but I'll spend 7 weeks in the US now and 2 months in Summer. The goal is to tour the country.

I have a BMW 1150 GS that I was planning to ship but the guy told me yesterday "do you mind if it arrives a month after you?". Luckily we don't easily have access to guns in this country ...

So, plan B is to get a good second-hand bike fast. The KLR seems pretty obvious. It wouldn't break my wallet and it would let me explore things that would be a pain in the butt with the GS (I took it to the Sahara and everything seems light and nimble by comparison).

I am looking around but if anyone has an idea, I'll buy them a pint whenever I am in the area. Since my girlfriend will join me for parts of the trip I'll need luggage (she has been spoilt with the GS - she could almost take her entire wardrobe).

To complicate things, I have to buy in a state where it's possible for a non-US resident to title, register and insure the bike. In some places all you need is an address. My girlfriend is American and I could buy in her name but she is in DC. Her parents are in Ilinois. I could use their address if necessary.

I could buy a new one but I'd lose too much when selling the bike. It's possible that I'll decide to keep it and ship it to South America but that's another story.

Cheers, be safe,

Laurent

Be reasonably safe !
LaurentM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 07:18 AM   #2
trainman
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 394
Fly in, rent a Goldwing and see the country, it's only money and in the long run may not be as expensive as all the hassle you would go through, buying, selling, ins, etc.

John
trainman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 07:33 AM   #3
SkiBumBrian
DualSport Crazy !!

Oddometer: 1,048