User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-14-2013, 07:06 AM   #1
jaTillApan OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 21
A n00b building a mini rally fairing for a 690

I want some more wind protection on my 690 enduro for longer trips. The problem is I haven't really been able to find a fairing that is both good looking and affordable. I really like the look of the Rally Raid kits with tanks and all, but it's just too expensive and also a bit on the heavy side. And for a sexy bike like the 690 it would be too painful to go with a cheap but ugly solution. So I came to the conclusion that it might be best to try to build my own. I have never done anything like this before though, so all feedback is more than welcome!

My plan is to build the fairing out of carbon fiber and attach it somewhere at the fender, forks, handlebar clamps or whatever suits the design I settle with. As I don't have access to a workshop I think the mounts will be the hardest parts to fabricate so I want to keep that simple.

Well, lets get to it!

Yesterday I took some measurements on the bike, did a quick flat paper mock up just to get a sense of scale, and started to work on a first design in the computer. After some negative feedback and a good nights sleep I realized it was actually quite ugly. So I started over today and came up with this design that (at least at the moment) I'm quite happy with. As a first draft that is... What do you guys think? Feel free to feedback on everything: aerodynamics, design, construction etc!

jaTillApan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 01:36 PM   #2
sprouty115
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,276